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STATE OF IDAHO 
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 
700 WEST STATE STREET, 3RD FLOOR 
PO BOX 83720 
BOISE, ID 83720-0043 
PHONE (208) 334-4250 
FAX (208) 334-4398 
 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING AND FILING   
STATEMENT OF PREMIUM TAXES AND FEES 

INSURER’S USING HEALTH BLANK 
 
1. Read these instructions carefully before completing the Statement of Premium Taxes 

and Fees.  If there are any questions regarding this filing, contact the Premium Tax 
Section at (208) 334-4282 or (208) 334-4281. 

 
2. Each authorized insurance company shall file a Statement of Premium Taxes and 

Fees regardless of whether any insurance business was transacted in Idaho during 
the year.  Each formerly authorized insurer, with respect to insurance transacted 
while an authorized insurer, shall file a statement for any renewal premiums received 
during the calendar year.  Enclose a written notice if transferring policies from one 
insurer to another insurer because it also transfers the tax obligation with respect to 
those policies.  Idaho Code § 41-3922 and 41-402. 

 
3. The Tax Statement and remittance are due on or before March 1.  The required state 

documents and Tax Statement can all be submitted in one package either by groups 
or individual company.  When the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or a legal 
holiday, the postmark on the next business day is considered filed on time.  However, 
any postmark after the next business day will be penalized from the original due date.  
Idaho Code § 41-404 and § 63-217. 

 
Late filing of the statement and remittance will result in a penalty of $25.00 for each 
day of delinquency as determined by an official postmark. 
 
Electronic Fund Transfer (EFT) payments, that are not in the correct bank account on 
the due date, will be assessed a late penalty. 
 
Only an official U.S. Postal Service cancellation postmark on the envelope, rather 
than private postage meter stamp, shall qualify as proof of timely mailing.  If a carrier 
service is used, the mailing date will be determined by the package pick-up date, not 
the delivery date. 

 
4. To avoid a lost payment, attach the check for balance due to the front of Page 

1.  If payment is being processed by the Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) method, 
indicate so under Line 8-Amount Enclosed.  Make sure when transmitting payment by 
EFT, it is sent to the correct premium tax type code (07170) for the Department of 
Insurance.  Late penalties will be assessed if payment is not in the correct bank 
account on the due date.  An EFT authorization approval should have been acquired 
prior to using this method.  If you need an authorization form, contact this office at a 
telephone number in Item 1 above. 
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5. Requests for extensions for a period of 30 days or less beyond the regular due date 
or exemptions, for filing the annual statement only, will not be required providing the 
domiciliary state has granted the extension or exemption and notified the NAIC.  
Extensions beyond 30 days will require written request for extension prior to 
expiration of the initial 30 day period, and domiciliary approval.  However, the Annual 
Continuation Fee MUST be submitted with the Statement of Premium Taxes and 
Fees on or before March 1st. 
 

6. Original signed tax forms must be submitted.  If you need additional instructions 
or forms, contact this office at a telephone number listed in Item 1.  Code § 41-402 
(1). 
 
Annual Statement pages used for reporting 
    Page 3, Liabilities, Capital and Surplus;   
    Page 30, Exhibit of Premiums, Enrollment and Utilization State of Idaho, 
    Page 38, Schedule T, 
    Supplement 31 – Direct Business in the State of Idaho – Life Insurance 
    Supplement 71 – Exhibit of Premiums and Losses) - Property/Casualty.  

 
7. PAGE  1 - RECAP OF TAXES AND FEES   
 

A. The Idaho Certificate of Authority Number (C/A No.) box must be completed.  
Enter your Company NAIC Identification Number in the box provided.  The 
company name, address, and state of domicile must be completed as all tax 
forms, refunds, and correspondence will be sent to this address. 

 
B. Line 1 - Tax Due.  Carry forward only the higher aggregate retaliatory tax 

amount calculated on Page 9, Schedule E, Line 6 either Column A or B. 
 
C. Line 2 -  Less Premium GA Tax Credit from Page 8, Schedule 8, Line 3A. 

 
D. Line 3 - Less Total Workers Compensation Credit from  

Schedule 7, Line 6.  Tax Credit - cannot exceed the premium tax liability. 
 
E. Line 4 - The amount of quarterly prepayments must agree with actual 

prepayment amounts paid each quarter.  DO NOT ROUND AMOUNTS unless 
you did so when paid. 

 
F. Line 5 - Total of Line 1 less Lines 2, 3, and 4.  If the tax credits and estimated 

quarterly prepayments paid toward your tax obligation exceed the total 
premium tax amount due for the calendar year end, you must still submit 
payment of required Continuation Fee.  If the amount on Line 5 is negative, 
this same amount must be carried forward to Line 9 - Refund Due for Tax 
Overpayment.  Any refund due for the overpayment of premium taxes will be 
mailed to the company address indicated above after your company's 
statement has been completely audited.  Tax overpayments cannot be applied 
toward continuation fee or future quarterly tax prepayment obligations.  Idaho 
Code § 41-402(10). 
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G. Line 6 - Annual Continuation Fee.  Idaho Code § 41-324, Idaho Insurance Rule
44 (IDAPA 18.01.44).  To determine correct fee amount, use the total capital
and surplus amount reported on Annual Statement, Page 3, Line 33, Column
3. Payment of required fee MUST be included.  If required fee is not being
paid you must attach a written explanation.

H. Line 7 - Calculate if a penalty will be due based on the official postmark date.
A late penalty is assessed if Electronic Fund Transfer (EFT) payment is not in
the correct bank account on the due date.

I. Line 8 - Amount Enclosed.  Add Lines 5, 6, and 7.  If the tax amount on Line
5 is a negative amount, do not include it with the continuation fee due.
Do not apply tax overpayment to payment of fee.  Payment of required
fee must be enclosed.

J. Line 9 - Refund Due. This is negative tax amount calculated on Line 5.
Per Idaho 41-402A. Refunds. Where there has been an overpayment of any
taxes, fines or penalties due under this chapter, the director is authorized to
refund all such taxes, fines or penalties erroneously or illegally collected or
paid. No such refund shall be paid after one (1) year from the due date of the
statement required in section 41-402(4), Idaho Code, unless before the
expiration of such period a written claim is filed therefore by the insurer on
such forms and in such manner as is prescribed by the director

K. The Tax Statement must be signed and dated by an Officer of the company.
By your signature, being duly sworn upon oath, you declare that the premium
tax report is a complete, true and correct statement of all premiums and fees
on business written by said company for the reporting year ending on
insurance or property or risks resident or located in Idaho.  Unsigned forms will
be considered incomplete.

L. All questions concerning this Tax Statement will be directed to the contact
person; therefore, include a direct telephone number with extension and E-
mail address.

8. PAGE 2 - SCHEDULE A- COMPUTATION OF PREMIUM TAX ACCIDENT AND
HEALTH ONLY:

A. Line 1. TOTAL HEALTH PREMIUMS Must agree with premium as reported
on the Idaho State page.  A complete explanation of any differences between
the Tax Statement and Annual Statement schedules must be submitted and
signed by the person authorized by the company to prepare this Tax
Statement.

Line 1A. Report premiums written through Associations, Trusts or Groups
that are sited in a state other than Idaho but are for residents or risks located
in Idaho and have been reported on Schedule T as premiums written in a state
other than Idaho.  Must enter an amount even if zero.  Idaho law does not
permit an exemption based on the Rule of 500 or any other allocation
method.

Line 1B Total premiums add line 1 plus line 1A. 

http://legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title41/T41CH4SECT41-402.htm
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B. Idaho domestic insurers.  Enter total premiums minus dividends shown on 
SUPPLEMENT 2 -  Accident and Health BUSINESS IN JURISDICTIONS NOT 
LICENSED.  

 
 
C. Line 3 itemize premiums exempt from state taxes under federal law, and 

identify applicable preemption.  Federal Employees Health Benefit Program 
Premiums from Schedule T, Line 13, Column 5.  Medicare Premiums from 
Schedule T, Line 13, Column 3 and the Exhibit of Premium, Enrollment and 
Utilization, Line 12, Columns 7 and 8. 

 
  

9. PAGE 3 - SCHEDULE B1 - COMPUTATION OF PREMIUM TAX - LIFE  
 

A. Line 1. TOTAL LIFE  PREMIUMS Must agree with premium as reported on 
the Idaho State page.  A complete explanation of any differences between the 
Tax Statement and Annual Statement schedules must be submitted and 
signed by the person authorized by the company to prepare this Tax 
Statement. 

 
 Line 1A. Report total premiums written through Associations, Trusts or 

Groups that are sited in a state other than Idaho but are for residents or risks 
located in Idaho and have been reported on Schedule T as premiums written 
in a state other than Idaho.  Must enter an amount even if zero.  Idaho law 
does not permit an exemption based on the Rule of 500 or any other 
allocation method.  

 
  Total premiums add line 1 plus line 1 A. 

 
B. Line 2 must be completed only by Idaho domestic insurers.  Enter total 

premiums minus dividends shown on SUPPLEMENT 1 – BUSINESS IN 
JURISDICTIONS NOT LICENSED. 

 
C. On Line 4 itemize premiums exempt from state taxes under federal law, and 

identify applicable preemption. 
 
 
10. PAGE 4 - SCHEDULE B2 - COMPUTATION OF PREMIUM TAX –  PROPERTY 

AND CASUALTY  
 

A. Line 1. Must agree with premium as reported on the Idaho State page.  A 
complete explanation of any differences between the Tax Statement and 
Annual Statement schedules must be submitted and signed by the person 
authorized by the company to prepare this Tax Statement.   
 
Line 1A. Report total premiums written through Associations, Trusts or Groups 
that are sited in a state other than Idaho but are for residents or risks located 
in Idaho and have been reported on Schedule T as premiums written in a state 
other than Idaho.  Must enter an amount even if zero.  Idaho law does not 
permit an exemption based on the Rule of 500 or any other allocation 
method.   

 
B. For Bail Bond Premiums that are reported net on Schedule T and/or state 

business page per your domicile state permitted practice SSAP No 053 Bail 
Bond reporting, ADD the difference between net reported and gross written for 
bail bond premium in the state of Idaho 
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C. Line 2 must be completed only by Idaho domestic insurers.  Enter total 
premiums minus dividends shown on SUPPLEMENT 1 - BUSINESS IN 
JURISDICTIONS NOT LICENSED. 

 
 
D.  On line 4 itemize premiums exempt from state taxes under federal law, and 

identify applicable preemption. 
 
 

11. PAGE 5 - SCHEDULE C – SELF-FUNDED PLANS 
 

Each self-funded plan that is not preempted by ERISA and is not exempt from 
registration under Idaho Code § 41-4003(2) is required to pay a four cent ($.04) per 
month per beneficiary tax for all beneficiaries working or residing in this state, per 
Idaho Code § 41-4012(1).   
 
If the administrator is collecting this tax on behalf of the employer plan, then the 
administrator should submit a Schedule C form for each administered self-
funded plan, along with the correct tax payment.  If the administrator is not collecting 
this tax, please forward the Schedule C form to each self-funded plan’s Trustee.   
 
Examples of self-funded plans not preempted by ERISA and that are required to pay 
the tax unless exempted by Idaho Code § 41-4003(2) are: 
 

 A plan for a governmental entity  (29 U.S.C. 1003(b)(1). 
 A church plan (29 U.S.C. 1003(b)(2). 
 An unfunded excess benefit plan (29 U.S.C. 1003(b)(5). 
 A self-funded Multiple Employer Welfare Arrangement. 

 
Examples of self-funded plans exempt from registration pursuant to Idaho Code § 41-
4003(2) and therefore not liable for the tax include: 
 

 Any plan established and maintained for the purpose of complying with any 
workers’ compensation law or unemployment compensation disability law; 

 Plans administered by or for the federal government or any agency thereof, or 
by or for any county in this state. 

  
12. PAGE 6 - SCHEDULE D – DENTAL PLANS 
 

A. Include all dental premiums on Page 2, Line 1, premium must agree with 
Annual Statement Schedules.  The change in Idaho Code 41-402 (9) effective 
July 1, 2007, requires dental plan premiums to be taxed at the $.04 tax rate.  
Total premiums are to be shown on Page 6 and also deducted from the 
premium tax base on Page 2, Line 3C.   

 
B. Convert dental premiums to report each individual insured, group certificate 

holder, or blanket policy participant per month and calculate the $.04 tax due. 
Report the dental tax amount on Schedule E page 9, line 5, Column A, other 
taxes.   

 
13. PAGE 7 – SCHEDULE 7 -  WORKER’S COMPENSATION TAX CREDIT 
  

A. All worker’s compensation insurers must pay a 2.00% premium tax on Idaho 
premiums written to the Idaho Industrial Commission.  Insurers are allowed to 
offset 50% of this tax against the worker’s compensation tax liability with the 
Department of Insurance.  Do not confuse the premium taxes paid to the 
Industrial Commission at the 2.00% rate with the additional Department of 
Insurance 1.50% premium tax rate.  The tax credit can only offset the 
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worker’s compensation premium tax liability and cannot be allowed against 
any other lines of insurance.  Idaho Code § 72-523.  

 
B. Report SEMI-ANNUAL Industrial Commission Net Premiums Written.  Enter 

the same amounts as reported on the June and December Semi-Annual 
Report of Premiums filed with the Idaho Industrial Commission.  Only 50% of 
your company's worker’s compensation premium tax paid to the Industrial 
Commission semi-annually is allowed for deduction against premium taxes.  
Report minimum payments of $75.00 if applicable.  

  
 

C. Lines 4 and 5 - Department of Insurance calculation of worker’s compensation 
premium tax liability.  The tax credit can never exceed the worker’s 
compensation premiums tax liability at 1.50% or the retaliatory tax rate.  If the 
1.50% worker’s compensation tax is less than the allowable $150.00 minimum, 
the lesser amount must be used as the credit.  If no worker’s compensation 
premiums were written, no credit can be taken. .  

 
D. The sum of the Idaho Industrial Commission Worker’s Compensation Credits 

cannot exceed the total premium tax liability (Page 9, Schedule E, Line 5, 
Column A or B, whichever is greater).   

  
 
 
14. PAGE 8 - SCHEDULE 8 – CLASS B ASSESSMENTS 2011 & 2015 

 
 

A. Read these instructions carefully before completing Schedule 8.  If you have 
any questions, contact the Premium Tax Section at (208) 334-4282, (208) 334-
4281, or (208) 334-4280. 

 
B. Each authorized insurance company filing a Statement of Premium Taxes and 

Fees and requesting Tax Credits on Page 1 - must complete and attach only 
those schedules where tax credits are being requested.  Total tax credits 
cannot exceed the calculated premium tax liability.   

 
 
C. Each formerly authorized insurer, with respect to insurance transacted while 

an authorized insurer, shall file a statement on renewal premiums received 
during the calendar year.  The effect of transferring policies from one insurer to 
another insurer is to transfer the tax obligation or credit with respect to the 
policies.  Before credit can be taken for a company other than the company 
shown on the original Certificate of Contribution, an explanation must be 
attached.  Idaho Code § 41-402 (1) (5). 

 
D. Schedules are in date order by the Notice of Assessment, Certificate of 

Contribution, and each assessment is listed by company in the same order as 
on the Certificate.  Do not attach a copy of checks or Certificate of 
Contributions.  They will be requested only if a discrepancy is discovered. 

 
E. Enter only the actual tax credit amount being requested for each individual 

company assessment.  Do not report the actual amounts paid to the Guaranty 
Association.  The Guaranty Association provides us with the amount and date 
each assessment is paid.  Credits can only be taken for Class B assessments 
paid. 

 
F. Do not confuse calendar year paid with tax year.  For example: If a Notice of 

Assessment dated November 2000 was paid before calendar year ending 
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2000  (A. Portion Paid in 2000), it can be included as a credit for 2000 on the 
Tax Statement due March 2001.  However, if any portion of this assessment 
was not paid until 2001 (B. Portion paid in 2001), then only that portion would 
be included as a credit for 2001 on the Tax Statement due March 2002. 

 
G. A credit of twenty percent (20%) of your assessment is allowed for each of the 

five (5) calendar years following the calendar year in which the assessment 
was paid.  The 20% credit or portion thereof not used in any calendar year 
cannot be carried forward or back to another year.  Idaho Code § 41-4313 

 
H. An assessment expires five (5) calendar years following the calendar year in 

which the assessment was paid.  Refer to the expiration dates listed on each 
assessment. 

 
 
15. PAGE 9 - SCHEDULE E - COMPUTATION OF RETALIATORY TAXES 

Idaho Code § 41-340 (2) and (3) 
SCHEDULE E MUST BE INCLUDED WITH RETURN 

 
A. This schedule determines the higher aggregate of taxes due.  For audit 

verification, we may be contacting the various state insurance departments, 
using copies of the domicile state’s tax statements or the NAIC Retaliatory 
Guide. 

 
B. Taxes should be calculated on the retaliatory basis of what an Idaho company, 

doing the identical volume of business, would be required to pay to your state 
of domicile.  Attach an explanation of calculations on taxes. 

 
C. Line 5, Column B - Other Taxes.  All other taxes imposed by your state of 

domicile on foreign insurers must be reported except:  
 

1.  Ad valorem taxes on real or personal property; 
2.  Personal income, capital or surplus taxes, and  
3. Taxes imposed for a special purpose on a particular kind of insurance. 

 
D. An explanation of retaliatory calculations will be requested for any 

discrepancies. 
 


