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STATE OF IDAHO 
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 
700 WEST STATE STREET, 3RD FLOOR 
PO BOX 83720 
BOISE, ID 83720-0043 
PHONE (208) 334-4250 
FAX (208) 334-4398 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING AND FILING 
STATEMENT OF PREMIUM TAXES AND FEES 

PROPERTY AND CASUALTY COMPANIES  

1. Read these instructions carefully before completing the Statement of Premium
Taxes and Fees.  If there are any questions regarding this filing, contact the
Premium Tax Section at (208) 334-4282, or (208) 334-4281.

2. Each authorized insurance company shall file a Statement of Premium Taxes
and Fees regardless of whether any insurance business was transacted in
Idaho during the year.  Each formerly authorized insurer, with respect to
insurance transacted while an authorized insurer, shall file a statement for any
renewal premiums received during the calendar year.  Enclose a written notice
if transferring policies from one insurer to another insurer because it also
transfers the tax obligation with respect to those policies.  Idaho Code § 41-
402.

3. The Tax Statement and remittance are due on or before March 1.  The required
state documents and Tax Statement can all be submitted in one package either
by groups or individual company.  When the due date falls on a Saturday,
Sunday or a legal holiday, the postmark on the next business day is considered
filed on time.  However, any postmark after the next business day will be
penalized from the original due date.  Idaho Code § 41-404 and § 63-217.

Late filing of the statement and remittance will result in a penalty of $25.00 for
each day of delinquency as determined by an official postmark.

Electronic Fund Transfer (EFT) payments that are not in the correct bank
account on the due date, will be assessed a late penalty.

Only an official U.S. Postal Service cancellation postmark on the envelope,
rather than private postage meter stamp, shall qualify as proof of timely mailing.
If a carrier service is used, the mailing date will be determined by the package
pick-up date, not the delivery date.

4. To avoid a lost payment, attach the check for the balance due to the front
of Page 1.  If payment is being processed by the Electronic Funds Transfer
(EFT) method, indicate so under Line 8-Amount Enclosed.  Make sure when
transmitting payment by EFT, it is sent to the correct premium tax type code
(07170) for the Department of Insurance.  Late penalties will be assessed if
payment is not in the correct bank account on the due date.  An EFT
authorization approval should have been acquired prior to using this method.  If
you need an authorization form, contact this office at a telephone number in
Item 1 above.



INS-PTX-IPC (10-15) 
Page 2 of 7 

5. Requests for extensions or exemptions beyond the regular due date from filing 
the annual statement, will not be required providing approval was granted by 
the domiciliary state and NAIC has been notified.  Extensions beyond 30 days 
will require written request for extension and domiciliary approval.  However, 
the Annual Continuation Fee MUST be submitted with the Statement of 
Premium Taxes and Fees on or before March 1. 

 
6. Original signed tax forms must be submitted.  If you need additional 

instructions or forms, contact this office at a telephone number listed in Item 1.    
Idaho Code § 41-402 (1). 

 
7. Use Annual Statement Page 3 Liabilities, Surplus and Other Funds, Idaho 

Business Page, and Schedule T to gather reporting information.  Tax statement  
and continuation fee must be filed regardless of negative premiums or if no 
business was written. 

 
8. PAGE  1 - RECAP OF TAXES AND FEES   
 

A. The Idaho Certificate of Authority Number (C/A No.) box must be 
completed.  Enter your Company NAIC Identification Number in the box 
provided.  The company name, address, and state of domicile must be 
completed as all tax forms, refunds, and correspondence will be sent to this 
address. 

 
B. Line 1 - Tax Due.  Carry forward only the higher aggregate retaliatory tax 

amount calculated on Page 8, Schedule E Line 5 either Column A or B. 
 
C. Line 2 – Less Premium GA Tax Credit from Schedule 8, Line 3A. Tax 

Credits cannot exceed the premium tax liability.  
 

D. Line 3 - Less Total Worker’s Compensation Premium Tax Credits from  
Schedule 7, Line 6.  Tax Credits cannot exceed the premium tax liability. 

 
E. Line 4 - The amount of quarterly prepayments must agree with actual 

prepayment amounts paid each quarter.  DO NOT ROUND AMOUNTS 
unless you did so when paid. 

 
F. Line 5 - Total of Line 1 less Lines 2, 3 and Line 4.  If the tax credits and 

estimated quarterly prepayments paid toward your tax obligation exceed 
the total premium tax amount due for the calendar year end, you must still 
submit payment of required continuation fee.  If the amount on Line 5 is 
negative, this same amount should be carried forward to Line 9 - Refund 
Due for Tax Overpayment.  Any refund due for the overpayment of 
premium taxes will be mailed to the company address indicated above after 
your company's statement has been completely audited.  Tax 
overpayments cannot be applied toward continuation fee or future quarterly 
tax prepayment obligations.  Idaho Code § 41-402 (10). 

 
G. Line 6 - Annual Continuation Fee.  Idaho Code § 41-324, Idaho Insurance 

Rule 44 (IDAPA 18.01.44).  To determine correct fee amount, use surplus 
amount reported on Annual Statement, Page 3, Line 37.  Payment of 
required fee MUST be included.  If required fee is not being paid you must 
attach a written explanation.  

 
H. Line 7 - Calculate if a penalty will be due based on the official postmark 

date.  A late penalty is assessed if Electronic Fund Transfer (EFT) payment 
is not in the correct bank account on the due date. 
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I. Line 8 - Amount Enclosed.  Add Lines 5 thru 7.  If the tax amount on Line 

5 is a negative amount, do not include it with the addition of fee due.  
Do not apply tax overpayment to payment of fee.  Payment of required 
fee must be enclosed. 

 
J. Line 9 - Refund Due. This is the negative tax amount calculated on Line 5. 

Per Idaho 41-402A. Refunds. …No such refund shall be paid after one (1) 
year from the due date of the statement required in section 41-402(4), 
Idaho Code, unless before the expiration of such period a written claim is 
filed therefore by the insurer on such forms and in such manner as is 
prescribed by the director. 
 

 
K. The Tax Statement must be signed and dated by an Officer of the 

company.  By your signature, being duly sworn upon oath, you declare that 
the premium tax report is a complete, true and correct statement of all 
premiums and fees on business written by said company for the reporting 
year ending on insurance or property or risks resident or located in Idaho.  
Unsigned forms will be considered incomplete. 

 
L. All questions concerning this Tax Statement will be directed to the contact 

person; therefore, include a direct telephone number with extension and E-
mail address. 

 
 

9. PAGE 2 - SCHEDULE A - COMPUTATION OF PREMIUM TAX – PROPERTY 
AND CASUALTY (EXCLUDING ACCIDENT AND HEALTH) 

 
 

Premiums Written for Federal Purchasing Groups MUST be reported for 
amounts equal to the premiums written for all Purchasing Group members 
located in the state. This number will be verified with Premium Volume Reports 
submitted by each Purchasing Group.  You will be contacted if totals do not 
agree. 

 
 

A. Line 1. Must agree with premium as reported on the Idaho Business page.  
A complete explanation of any differences between the Tax Statement and 
Annual Statement schedules must be submitted and signed by the person 
authorized by the company to prepare this Tax Statement.   

 
Line 1A. Report total premiums written through Associations, Trusts or 
Groups that are sited in a state other than Idaho but are for residents or 
risks located in Idaho and have been reported on Schedule T as premiums 
written in a state other than Idaho.  Must enter an amount even if zero.  
Idaho law does not permit an exemption based on the Rule of 500 or 
any other allocation method.   

 
B. For Bail Bond Premiums that are reported net on Schedule T and/or 

state business page per your domicile state permitted practice SSAP No 
053 Bail Bond reporting, ADD the difference between net reported and 
gross written for bail bond premium in the state of Idaho. 
 
 

C. Total premiums add line 1,1A and B. 
 

http://legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title41/T41CH4SECT41-402.htm
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D. Line 2 must be completed only by Idaho domestic insurers.  Enter total 

premiums minus dividends shown on an attached SUPPLEMENT 1 - 
BUSINESS IN JURISDICTIONS NOT LICENSED. 

 
E. On Line 4 itemize and identify premiums exempt under state law and/or 

preempted by federal law. 
 

 
10.  PAGE 3 - SCHEDULE B - COMPUTATION OF PREMIUM TAX - ACCIDENT 

AND HEALTH  
 

A. Line 1. Must agree with premium as reported on the Idaho Business page.  
A complete explanation of any differences between the Tax Statement and 
Annual Statement schedules must be submitted and signed by the person 
authorized by the company to prepare this Tax Statement.   

 
Line 1A. Report total premiums written through Associations, Trusts or 
Groups that are sited in a state other than Idaho but are for residents or 
risks located in Idaho and have been reported on Schedule T as premiums 
written in a state other than Idaho.  Must enter an amount even if zero.  
Idaho law does not permit an exemption based on the Rule of 500 or 
any other allocation method.   

 
 B. Line 2 must be completed only by Idaho domestic insurers.  Enter total 

premiums minus dividends shown on an attached SUPPLEMENT 2 - 
ACCIDENT AND HEALTH BUSINESS IN JURISDICTIONS NOT 
LICENSED. 

 
 C. On Line 4 itemize and identify premiums exempt under state law and/or 

preempted by federal law. 
 

 
11. PAGE 4 - SCHEDULE C – SELF-FUNDED PLANS 

 
Each self-funded plan that is not preempted by ERISA and is not exempt from 
registration under Idaho Code § 41-4003(2) is required to pay a four cent ($.04) 
per month per beneficiary tax for all beneficiaries working or residing in this 
state, per Idaho Code § 41-4012(1).   
 
If the administrator is collecting this tax on behalf of the employer plan, then the 
administrator should submit a Schedule C form for each administered self-
funded plan, along with the correct tax payment.  If the administrator is not 
collecting this tax, please forward the Schedule C form to each self-funded 
plan’s Trustee.   
 
Examples of self-funded plans not preempted by ERISA and that are required 
to pay the tax unless exempted by Idaho Code § 41-4003(2) are: 

 
 A plan for a governmental entity  (29 U.S.C. 1003(b)(1). 
 A church plan (29 U.S.C. 1003(b)(2). 
 An unfunded excess benefit plan (29 U.S.C. 1003(b)(5). 
 A self-funded Multiple Employer Welfare Arrangement. 
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Examples of self-funded plans exempt from registration pursuant to Idaho Code 
§ 41-4003(2) and therefore not liable for the tax include: 
 

 Any plan established and maintained for the purpose of complying with 
any workers’ compensation law or unemployment compensation 
disability law. 

 Plans administered by or for the federal government or any agency 
thereof, or by or for any county in this state. 

 
 
12. PAGE 5 - SCHEDULE D – DENTAL PLANS 
 

A. Include all dental premiums on Page 3, Line 1, premium must agree with 
Annual Statement Schedules.  The change in Idaho Code 41-402 (9) 
effective July 1, 2007, requires dental plan premiums to be taxed at the 
$.04 tax rate.  Total premiums are to be shown on Page 4 and also 
deducted from the premium tax base on Page 3, Line 4C. 

 
B. Report dental premiums for each individual insured, group certificate 

holder, or blanket policy participant per month and calculate the $.04 tax 
due. 

 
  

13. PAGE 6 – SCHEDULE 7 -  WORKER’S COMPENSATION TAX CREDIT 
  

A. All worker’s compensation insurers must pay a 2.00% premium tax on 
Idaho premiums written to the Idaho Industrial Commission.  Insurers 
are allowed to offset 50% of this tax against the worker’s compensation 
tax liability with the Department of Insurance.  Do not confuse the 
premium taxes paid to the Industrial Commission at the 2.00% rate with 
the additional Department of Insurance 1.50% premium tax rate.  The 
tax credit can only offset the worker’s compensation premium tax 
liability and cannot be allowed against any other lines of insurance.  
Idaho Code § 72-523.  

 
B. Report SEMI-ANNUAL Industrial Commission Net Premiums Written.  

Enter the same amounts as reported on the June and December Semi-
Annual Report of Premiums filed with the Idaho Industrial Commission.  
Only 50% of your company's worker’s compensation premium tax paid 
to the Industrial Commission semi-annually is allowed for deduction 
against premium taxes.  Report minimum payments of $75.00 if 
applicable.  

 
 

C. Lines 4 and 5 - Department of Insurance calculation of worker’s 
compensation premium tax liability.  The tax credit can never exceed the 
worker’s compensation premiums tax liability at 1.50% or the retaliatory 
tax rate.  If the 1.50% worker’s compensation tax is less than the 
allowable $150.00 minimum, the lesser amount must be used as the 
credit.  If no worker’s compensation premiums were written, no 
credit can be taken. .  

 
D. The sum of the Idaho Industrial Commission Worker’s Compensation 

Credits cannot exceed the total premium tax liability (Page 8, Schedule 
E, Line 5, Column A or B, whichever is greater). 
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14. PAGE 7 - SCHEDULE 8 – CLASS B ASSESSMENTS 2011 & 2015 
 

 
A. Read these instructions carefully before completing Schedule 8.  If you 

have any questions, contact the Premium Tax Section at (208) 334-
4282, (208) 334-4281, or (208) 334-4280. 

 
B. Each authorized insurance company filing a Statement of Premium 

Taxes and Fees and requesting Tax Credits on Page 1 - must complete 
and attach only those schedules where tax credits are being requested.  
Total tax credits cannot exceed the calculated premium tax liability.   

 
C. Each formerly authorized insurer, with respect to insurance transacted 

while an authorized insurer, shall file a statement on renewal premiums 
received during the calendar year.  The effect of transferring policies 
from one insurer to another insurer is to transfer the tax obligation or 
credit with respect to the policies.  Before credit can be taken for a 
company other than the company shown on the original Certificate of 
Contribution, an explanation must be attached.  Idaho Code § 41-402 (1) 
(5). 

 
D. Schedules are in date order by the Notice of Assessment, Certificate of 

Contribution, and each assessment is listed by company in the same 
order as on the Certificate.  Do not attach a copy of checks or Certificate 
of Contributions.  They will be requested only if a discrepancy is 
discovered. 

 
E. Enter only the actual tax credit amount being requested for each 

individual company assessment.  Do not report the actual amounts paid 
to the Guaranty Association.  The Guaranty Association provides us with 
the amount and date each assessment is paid.  Credits can only be 
taken for Class B assessments paid. 

 
F. Do not confuse calendar year paid with tax year.  For example: If a 

Notice of Assessment dated November 2000 was paid before calendar 
year ending 2000  (A. Portion Paid in 2000), it can be included as a 
credit for 2000 on the Tax Statement due March 2001.  However, if any 
portion of this assessment was not paid until 2001 (B. Portion paid in 
2001), then only that portion would be included as a credit for 2001 on 
the Tax Statement due March 2002. 

 
G. A credit of twenty percent (20%) of your assessment is allowed for each 

of the five (5) calendar years following the calendar year in which the 
assessment was paid.  The 20% credit or portion thereof not used in any 
calendar year cannot be carried forward or back to another year.  Idaho 
Code § 41-4313 

 
H. An assessment expires five (5) calendar years following the calendar 

year in which the assessment was paid.  Refer to the expiration dates 
listed on each assessment. 
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15. PAGE 8 - SCHEDULE E - COMPUTATION OF RETALIATORY TAXES 
MUST BE INCLUDED WITH RETURN 

Idaho Code § 41-340(2) and (3) 
 

A. This schedule determines the higher aggregate of taxes due.  For audit 
verification, we may be contacting the various state insurance 
departments, using copies of the domicile state’s tax statements or the 
NAIC Retaliatory Guide. 

 
B. Taxes should be calculated on the retaliatory basis of what an Idaho 

company, doing the identical volume of business, would be required to 
pay to your state of domicile.  Attach an explanation of calculations on 
taxes. 

 
C. Line 4, Column B - Other Taxes.  All other taxes imposed by your state 

of domicile on foreign insurers must be reported except: 
 

 Ad valorem taxes on real or personal property;  
 Personal income, capital or surplus taxes, and  
 Taxes imposed for a special purpose obligations or assessments on 

particular kinds of insurance.  
 

D. An explanation of retaliatory calculations will be requested for any 
discrepancies. 

 
 


