
IMPORTANT INFORMATION
FOR SURPLUS LINES PRODUCERS 
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DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE CONTACT INFORMATION 
Email:  agent@doi.idaho.gov Web Site:  www.doi.idaho.gov 

Idaho Department of Insurance 
700 W State St Fl 3  Phone: 208/334-4339 

PO Box 83720  Fax:     208/334-4398 

Boise, ID  83720-0043 

SIGN UP ON OUR WEBSITE TO RECEIVE THE DEPARTMENT’S LATEST NEWS, NOTICES 

AND BULLETINS!!! 

*Keep this document in electronic format to preserve the links*

Check the website occasionally for updated versions of this form.

IMPORTANT SURPLUS LINES BULLETIN 

 Attached to this document you will find http://www.doi.idaho.gov/DisplayPDF2.aspx?Id=2026

which contains amendments to the Idaho Surplus Lines Law, Title 41, Chapter 12.  Please read it

carefully and thoroughly.

HOW TO OBTAIN A LIST OF ELIGIBLE SURPLUS LINES CARRIERS 

 From www.doi.idaho.gov: Click on “Look up a Company or Agent” and search by company type

for Surplus Lines Insurers.

 From www.idahosurplusline.org: Click on “Insurers”

IMPORTANT IDAHO CODE, RULES, AND REFERENCES 

 Title 41, Chapter 12 - Unauthorized Insurers and Surplus Lines

 IDAPA Rule 18.01.17 – Delegation of Responsibility

 IDAPA Rule 18.01.18 – Open Lines for Export

 IDAPA Rule 18.01.65 – Rules of the Surplus Lines Brokers

IDAHO SURPLUS LINE ASSOCIATION (SLA): 

 A letter is sent by the Idaho Department of Insurance to the Idaho Surplus Line Association

notifying them of your licensure in Idaho.

 They will contact you with important information regarding the duties/conditions of your license.

 All brokers must file an electronic affidavit for each Idaho surplus line placement.

o For access to online filing service through SLA, click here

 To avoid late fees, filings should be done within 30 days of receipt of the policy.

 To ensure accuracy of your filings, use your credentials to log in at www.idahosurplusline.org and

view/print your accepted filings.

 Contact Carrie at carrie@idahosurplusline.org for your login, password, and general filing

questions.

PREMIUM TAX 
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 The SLA sends notification of amount of Premium Tax due for each broker to the Idaho DOI. 

 Prior to calendar year end, the SLA sends each broker notification of accumulated annual 

premium volume and tax totals due. 

 These fees must be submitted to the DOI on or before March 1st of each year. 

 A late penalty of $25/day for each day of delinquency after April 1st will be assessed based on the 

postmark date. 

 

IDAHO DILIGENT SEARCH REPORT 

 Pursuant to Idaho Code 41-1214 (2) a surplus lines broker shall perform a diligent search of 

licensed insurers before procuring insurance through a surplus lines insurer. 

 Pursuant to Idaho Code 41-1227, the broker shall keep in their office a full and true record of each 

surplus line coverage procured. 

 Pursuant to IDAPA Rule 18.01.18, the broker is to document their diligent search for at least three 

(3) admitted carriers in Idaho before writing coverage through a surplus lines carrier. 

 The broker’s documentation of the diligent search is subject to periodic audit by the Idaho 

Department of Insurance under Idaho Code 41-220. 

 The diligent search requirement is waived if the risk is approved for export.  Such risks can be 

identified on the SLA website: http://www.idahosurplusline.org/static/export.asp  or IDAPA Rule 

18.01.18. 

 

THE LICENSE 

 This license is the property of the State of Idaho and issued to the producer, who is responsible for 

its safekeeping. 

 In the event this license is cancelled, surrendered, terminated, revoked or suspended, it is your 

responsibility to provide a Dissolution of License Affidavit. 

 

ADDRESS CHANGES 

 Per §41-1223(4) all surplus lines brokers must inform the Department of Insurance within 30 days 

of any change of address.  Please go to www.nipr.com to report a change of address.   

 NOTE:  you can also perform a State-to-State change of address as long as you are licensed in the 

new domicile state and that is verifiable on PDB.   

 CCR allows changing an email, phone or fax as well as address information.  

 This service will report the change to all the states in which you are licensed if you choose to do 

so.   

 Idaho does not charge a fee for address changes. 

 

 LICENSE RENEWALS 

 Licenses are issued for 2 years and individuals expire at the end of the producer/broker’s birth 

month.  You are responsible for the timely renewal of your license.  You will receive a 

courtesy “notice to renew” reminder approximately six (6) weeks prior to your renewal date.  You 

do not need to receive this notice in order to renew your license.  Please go to www.nipr.com or 

www.sircon.com to renew online or to www.doi.idaho.gov to renew by paper anytime within the 

6-week period prior to expiration. 

 As Surplus Lines licenses usually require an underlying Producer P&C license to be valid, please 

remember to complete BOTH renewal applications. 

 Your renewal fee must be received or postmarked prior to your expiration date to avoid paying a 

late fee.    
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CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS 

 Resident producers must complete CE for their PRODUCER license.

 Surplus Lines and Non-Resident licenses are exempt from CE.

REPORTING OF ACTIONS Producers have a duty to report any criminal or administrative actions to 

the Idaho Department of Insurance within 30 days per §41-1021 and we encourage producers to use the 

NIPR Reporting of Actions Warehouse at www.nipr.com as a convenient means post your documents 

and explanations in order to report to us and any state in which you are licensed. 

LICENSE COPIES 

www.doi.idaho.gov offers a free license copy service that may be used anytime.  Go to ONLINE 

SERVICES on the home page and click on the Print a License option in the dropdown menu. Fill in the 

requested information and submit.  License will be emailed to you. 

http://www.nipr.com/
http://www.doi.idaho.gov/
http://www.doi.idaho.gov/
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