Skip to main content


(Click here for more CE information)

  • Resident producers must complete 24 hours of Continuing Education, with a minimum of 3 hours in ethics.
  • These hours are due at the time of renewal.
  • The licensee may complete and submit the continuing education requirements late, however the license will not be active after the expiration of the license AND additional penalties will apply.
    • An administrative penalty of:
      • $100.00 if Continuing Education is completed within 30 days of the expiration of the license
      • $200.00 if Continuing Education is completed between 31 and 60 days of the expiration of the license
      • $300.00 if Continuing Education is completed between 61 and 90 days of the expiration of the license
    • The license is suspended until the Continuing Education requirement has been satisfied.
  • The completion date of any course, as defined by Idaho Rule 53, will determine which penalty will apply.
  • If more than 90 days from the date of expiration, but less than 365 days, and Continuing Education has not been completed, the producer must reapply and retest as though a new agent and fulfill Continuing Education requirement. They will not have to fingerprint. The fee in this instance is $80.
  • After the license has been expired for one year, there are no Continuing Education requirements. However, the producer must retest, fingerprint and reapply as though a new applicant.
  • Idaho requires long-term care training and Continuing Education for the sale of this product. See Bulletin 06-5 on our website for details.
  • Idaho requires flood insurance training and Continuing Education for the sale of this product. See Bulletin 07-1 on our website for details.
  • Idaho requires Suitability in Annuity training and Continuing Education for the sale of this product. See Rule 18.01.09 on our website for details.
  • Continuing Education Course Catalog Link to external website is available on our website for a listing of providers and approved Idaho Continuing Education courses.
  • See the Continuing Education heading under LICENSING SERVICES for more information and forms regarding Continuing Education in Idaho.
  • It is possible to look up the Continuing Education you have accumulated at any time by going to our Continuing Education course catalog and clicking on Continuing Education Transcript Inquiry Link to external website. This is a Sircon service and allows you to renew your license without having to input the Continuing Education information. This inquiry is a free service.
  • Exemptions for Continuing Education:
    • Business Entities
    • Non-resident Producers
    • Limited Lines/Credit Producers
    • Independent Adjusters
    • Surplus Lines

Back Arrows Return to Individual Producer Menu