Skip to main content
Department of Insurance
State Fire Marshal
Independent Review Organization/External Review
Life Settlement - Broker and Provider
Managing General Agent
Pharmacy Benefit Managers
Producer - Individual
Producer - Business Entity (Agency/Firm)
Surplus Lines Broker
Third Party Administrator
Applications, Renewals, and Reinstatements
Modifications to Current License
Personal Information Changes (Individual)
Appointments, Terminations, and Registrations
Print a License
Business Entity Specific Forms
Bail Individual and Entity Specific Forms
Reporting of Actions
Alpha List of All Forms
Continuing Education for Licensed Professionals
Continuing Education for Providers
Look Up a Producer
Moving to Idaho
License Coverage Chart
Other States DOI's
Doing Business As (DBAs) Information and FAQs
If I Have a Criminal Offense
Health Exchange Certification
Surplus Lines Broker
> Licensing Information
Idaho Surplus Line Association Membership.
A letter is sent to this association (SLA) notifying them of your licensure in surplus lines. They will contact you with important information regarding the duties/conditions of your license, which includes membership in the association, per 41-1014(1). All brokers must file an affidavit for each Idaho surplus line placement. Please file electronically with the Idaho Surplus Line Association. To remain compliant, you must file within 30 days of receipt of a policy. Verify the accuracy of your filing with the monthly statements the association sends you. Contact:
for your log-in and password.
Each calendar year, ending December 31st, the Surplus Line Association will send the Department of Insurance each broker’s premium tax amount due. SLA will also notify you of the accumulated monthly annual premium volume and tax totals due. This amount must be submitted to the Department on or before March 1st each year. A late penalty of $25.00 per day for each day of delinquency after April 1 will be assessed, based on the actual postmark date.
Idaho Diligent Search Report.
Idaho Code 41-1214(2)
, a surplus lines broker shall perform a diligent search of licensed insurers before procuring insurance through a surplus lines insurer. Additionally, pursuant to
Idaho Code 41-1227
, the broker shall keep in their office a full and true record of each surplus line coverage procured. The broker is to document their diligent search for at least three (3) admitted carriers in Idaho before writing coverage through a surplus lines carrier (see IDAPA Rule 18.01.18.) The broker’s documentation of the diligent search is subject to periodic audit by the Idaho Department of Insurance as provided for under Idaho Code 41-220. The diligent search requirement is waived if the risk is approved for export. You can identify those risks at
Licenses are good for 24 months (2 years) and expire on the last day of the birth month of the producer. This expiration date should coincide with the producer license. The first license period may be a little more or less than 2 years.
Licensing fee is $80.
All Premium Tax filings must be E-filed through this
Return to Surplus Lines Broker Menu