Liability - Coverage you are REQUIRED TO PURCHASE
This is the amount your policy would pay for injured people or damaged
property due to your negligence: Idaho Code §49-117 (18): "Proof
of financial responsibility" means proof of ability to respond in damages
for liability, on account of accidents occurring subsequent to the effective
date of the proof, arising out of the ownership, maintenance or use of a
motor vehicle, in the amount of twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) because
of bodily injury to or death of one (1) person in any one (1) accident,
and, subject to the limit for one (1) person, in the amount of fifty thousand
dollars ($50,000) because of bodily injury to or death of two (2) or more
persons in any one (1) accident, and in the amount of fifteen thousand dollars
($15,000) because of injury to or destruction of property of others in any
one (1) accident.
This coverage is what the insurer (insurance company) agrees to reimburse
passengers in your auto and you (insured policy holder) for medical or funeral
expenses incurred as the result of bodily injury or death by accident under
specified conditions, whether or not the insured is legally responsible
for the accident. It will also cover you or members of your family if you
are struck by an auto while walking or while riding in another auto.
Idaho Insurance Code §41-2502 states that no insurance policy covering
liability will be delivered in the state unless coverage is provided for
uninsured motorist in the limits required by Idaho Code §49-117. However,
the named insured shall have the right to reject such coverage, which rejection
must be in writing. This is a very important coverage providing state required
limits to you in case you have bodily injuries due to an uninsured motorist.
There is no state requirement for property damage, just bodily injuries.
You should ask your agent if your company provides uninsured motorist property
damage. Typically the price for this coverage is minimal and is well worth
This coverage pays for damage to your auto from almost all causes other
than collision, such as fire, vandalism, water, hail, glass breakage, wind
and falling objects. It also pays if your auto or parts of the auto are
stolen. However, there are some restrictions regarding coverage for electronic
equipment and personal property.
This coverage pays if your auto collides with an object, including another
- Rental Reimbursement: This coverage will reimburse you for the
cost of renting a vehicle if your auto is withdrawn from use for longer
than 24 hours and the withdrawal is caused by a collision or a comprehensive
loss. Ask your agent how much per day the coverage will pay and the maximum
number of days it will cover.
- Towing: This coverage will reimburse you for the cost of towing
your vehicle and is typically purchased in amounts such as $50, $100 or
$250 per tow.
- Custom Equipment: This coverage is designed to insure equipment
that is not standard to the vehicle: custom wheels, stereos, windows,
lights, etc. If you have added or upgraded any equipment on your vehicle, advise
your agent as to the value of that equipment and ask what your cost would be to
the price to insure the added or upgraded equipment.
Need more info? Contact us at 208 334-4319 or email us .
Consumer Affairs Officers are available to answer your questions 8-5 M-F MST