State of Idaho DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

DIRK KEMPTHORNE Governor 700 West State Street, 3rd Floor P.O. Box 83720 Boise, Idaho 83720-0043 Phone (208)334-4250 FAX # (208)334-4398 MARY L. HARTUNG Director

BULLETIN NO. 00-3

DATE: May 1, 2000

TO: ALL INSURERS

FROM: MARY L. HARTUNG Director

SUBJECT: NEW FEE RULE

Idaho Insurance Rule 44 (IDAPA 18.01.44) has been amended effective July 1, 2000 to replace fees currently paid by insurers and certain other entities with a single annual continuation fee.

The continuation fee for all insurance companies receiving or holding a certificate of authority to transact insurance in Idaho will be due March 1, 2001, and annually thereafter. The fee is set as follows based upon company surplus at the preceding December 31^{st} :

Surplus less than \$10,000,000	\$1,000.00
Surplus greater than \$10,000,000 but less than \$100,000,000	\$2,500.00
Surplus greater than \$100,000,000	\$4,500.00
Fees for other licensed, listed or otherwise approved entities	\$ 500.00

The continuation fee is in lieu of and replaces the schedule of fees currently set forth in Rule 44, including but not limited to those associated with the following:

Certificate of Authority Arson, Fire and Fraud Assessment Listing Fee Statement (Surplus Line Insurers) Annual Statement filing Filing of policy rates and forms Agent appointment and renewal of appointment Holding company filing Filing of amendments to Articles and Bylaws Amendments to Certificate of Authority Filing of notice of significant transactions pursuant to §41-345, Idaho Code Quarterly statement filing Examination expenses

(Over)

The continuation fee does not replace and will not exempt the insurer or entity from payment of the following:

Fees for application for producer license(s) All fees set forth under Sections 030 and 040 of IDAPA 18.01.44 Costs/fines/penalties imposed by the department on an insurer or entity as allowed by Idaho Code or Rules

Please advise the appropriate members of your organization that effective July 1, 2000, no funds are to be remitted to the Idaho Department of Insurance for those fees replaced by the continuation fee under the amended rule. Also, be advised that Rule 44 provides that overpayments of fees to the Department will not be refunded unless the overpayment exceeds twenty dollars (\$20), or upon the request of the payor.

To view the full text of the amended rule, IDAPA 18.01.44, please go to the Idaho Department of Insurance Home Page at http://www.doi.state.id.us/ and click on the "Department of Insurance Rules" link under "Links to Other Sites."

Please contact Bureau Chief/Chief Examiner, (208) 334-4250 at the Idaho Department of Insurance if you have any questions.