
 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION 

FOR LIFE SETTLEMENT PROVIDERS 
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DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE CONTACT INFORMATION 
Email:  agent@doi.idaho.gov     Web Site:  www.doi.idaho.gov  

Idaho Department of Insurance 
700 W State St Fl 3    Phone: 208/334-4339 

PO Box 83720     Fax:     208/334-4398 

Boise, ID  83720-0043 

 

SIGN UP ON OUR WEBSITE TO RECEIVE THE DEPARTMENT’S LATEST NEWS, NOTICES 

AND BULLETINS!!! 

 

*Keep this document in electronic format to preserve the links* 

Check the website occasionally for updated versions of this form. 

 

LIFE SETTLEMENT REGISTRATION INFORMATION  
The Life Settlements Act is in Idaho Code, §41-1950 through §41-1965 – Life Insurance Policies and 

Annuity Contracts. The Life Settlements Act rule is in IDAPA 18.01.13. Carefully read these new code 

sections and rules.  

 

The Idaho Life Settlements Act makes it illegal to engage in stranger originated life insurance (STOLI) 

transactions. It is a violation of the Life Settlements Act to enter into a life settlement contract within two 

years of the date a policy was issued unless special circumstances as defined by the act exist. 

 

THE LICENSE 

 This license is the property of the State of Idaho and issued to the producer, who is responsible for 

its safekeeping. 

 In the event this license is cancelled, surrendered, terminated, revoked or suspended, it is your 

responsibility to provide a Dissolution of License Affidavit. 

 

ADDRESS CHANGES 

 Per §41-1008 (6), all producers must inform the Department of Insurance within 30 days of any 

change of address.  Please go to www.nipr.com to report a change of address.   

 NOTE:  you can also perform a State-to-State change of address as long as you are licensed in the 

new domicile state and that is verifiable on PDB.   

 CCR allows changing an email or phone as well as address information.  

 This service will report the change to all the states in which you are licensed if you choose to do 

so.   

 Idaho does not charge a fee for address changes. 

 

LICENSE RENEWALS 

 Licenses are issued for 2 years.  Individual registrations expire in the same month and year as the 

life producer license. Business entity registrations expire on the same date as the business entity 

producer license. The life producer license must be renewed prior to or at the same time as the life 

settlement registration.   

mailto:agent@doi.idaho.gov
http://www.doi.idaho.gov/
http://admws.idaho.gov/mailman/listinfo/idoinews
http://www.doi.idaho.gov/company/LifeSettlement.aspx
http://www.legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title41/T41CH19.htm
http://adminrules.idaho.gov/rules/current/18/0113.pdf
http://www.doi.idaho.gov/Producer/Docs/Dissolution%20of%20License%20Affidavit.pdf
http://www.legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title41/T41CH10SECT41-1008.htm
http://www.nipr.com/


Producer License Flyer Rev 7-15 

 

 You are responsible for the timely renewal of your license.  You will receive a courtesy “notice 

to renew” reminder approximately six (6) weeks prior to your expiration date.  You do not need to 

receive this notice in order to renew your license.  Please go to www.nipr.com or 

www.sircon.com to renew online or to www.doi.idaho.gov to renew by paper anytime within the 

6-week period prior to expiration. 

 Residents must complete all CE before renewing.  

 Your renewal fee must be received or postmarked prior to your expiration date to avoid paying a 

late fee.   Residents renewing past the expiration date of the license will need to reinstate by paper.  

 Renewal fees are $300. Online renewal is available 45 days prior to the expiration date. 

 Reinstatement fee is $600. If you fail to renew prior to the expiration date, your registration may 

be reinstated. 

 

FORMS FILING 

 Life settlement providers must provide specific disclosures to the policy owner at or before the 

time a life settlement contract is signed by the owner. Providers may use Department forms or 

must file their own forms with the Department for approval. 

 All life settlement contract forms and disclosure statements and all marketing materials must be 

filed with the Department of Insurance before being used in Idaho. Please use the proper form-

filing check list from the Department Web site to file by paper or via SERFF. 

 

ANNUAL FORM FILING 

 Life settlement providers are required to file with the Department an annual statement on or before 

March 1st each year per §41-1954, on a specific form available at www.doi.idaho.gov.  

 

REPORTING OF ACTIONS  

 Producers have a duty to report any criminal or administrative actions to the Idaho Department of 

Insurance within 30 days per §41-1021,  

 We encourage use of the NIPR Reporting of Actions Warehouse at www.nipr.com as a 

convenient means to post your documents and explanations.   

 You will be able to report to us and any other state in which you are licensed in a single 

transaction. 

 

LICENSE COPIES 

 Click here to print a free license copy.  Once there, simply fill in the requested information and 

submit.  License will be emailed to you.    

 If you are unsure of your Idaho License number, you can look it up here. 

http://www.nipr.com/
http://www.sircon.com/
http://www.doi.idaho.gov/
http://www.doi.idaho.gov/producer/reinstatement.aspx
http://www.legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title41/T41CH19SECT41-1954.htm
http://www.doi.idaho.gov/
http://www.legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title41/T41CH10SECT41-1021.htm
http://www.nipr.com/
http://www.doi.idaho.gov/Licensing/generatelicense.aspx
http://www.doi.idaho.gov/insurance/search.aspx

