# Independent Review Organization

This page contains important reference material for your new license.

# INDEPENDENT REVIEW ORGANIZATION INFORMATION

The Idaho Health Carrier External Review Act was codified in Title 41, Chapter 59 of Idaho code and applies to health plans issued or renewed in Idaho on or after January 1, 2010.

The Act provides an insured the right to have an adverse benefit determination for a health claim reviewed by an independent reviewer if the denial is based on a finding by the plan that a service or supply is not medically necessary, is investigational, or on the basis of appropriateness, health care setting, level of care and effectiveness.

Please review important information regarding this act:

- <u>Idaho Code, Title 41, Chapter 59</u>- Idaho Health Carrier External Review Act
- <u>IDAPA 18.04.01</u> Health Carrier External Review
- <u>Bulletin 09-08</u> Idaho Health Carrier External Review Act
- Bulletin 11-04 Amendments
- <u>§41-5911</u> Approval of IROs
- <u>§41-5908</u> Standard external reviews
- <u>§41-5909</u> Expedited external reviews
- <u>§41-5914</u> Reporting and record retention

# COORDINATION OF IRO SERVICES BY THE DEPARTMENT

Please direct communication to . To contact her please send an e-mail to:

#### LICENSE RENEWAL

You are responsible for the timely renewal of your license.

- To download the renewal packet <u>click here</u>.
- Licenses are issued for 2 years and expire on the first day of month following issuance.
- You can renew up to 90 days prior to your expiration.
- The cost of renewal is \$300.
- The renewal fee must be received or postmarked prior to your expiration date to avoid paying a late fee.
- Failure to renew prior to the expiration will result in reactivation status.

#### LATE RENEWALS

If your licenses is not renewed by the expiration date it will need to be reinstated.

- Reactivations can not be done online. Please use the IRO reactivation form.
- There is a non-refundable \$600 fee.
- Reactivations are only available up to one year after the expiration date.

### LICENSE COPIES

You can download a free copy of your license via the <u>License Manager</u>.

Idaho no longer sends a paper license.

#### UPDATING YOUR INFORMATION

Please use the following link to update your address, phone number or e-mail address:

• <u>Update Contact Information via NIPR</u>

Changes may also be submitted directly to the DOI via the following forms:

- Doing Business As Form
- Name Change, Business
- Update Address Form, State to State

## REPORTING OF ACTIONS

Licensees have a duty to report any criminal or administrative actions to the Idaho Department of Insurance within 30 days of the action.

We encourage the use of the NIPR Reporting of Actions Warehouse at www.nipr.com as a convenient means of making your documents and explanations available.



agent@doi.idaho.gov - www.doi.idaho.gov 700 W State St Fl 3, PO Box 83720, Boise, ID 83720 Phone: 208/334-4339 - Fax: 208/334-4398

