Idaho licenses both resident and nonresident individuals as Surplus Lines Brokers, but not agencies. Residents must carry an underlying Property
and Casualty producer’s license for at least 2 years prior to applying for a Surplus Lines license. Nonresidents must carry Property and Casualty
in their home state and as Idaho is a diligent search state, it is highly recommended to carry a nonresident Property and Casualty producer’s license
as well. Not carrying the producer’s license only authorizes the license holder to place Surplus Lines business and requires use of an Idaho-licensed
Property and Casualty producer to perform a diligent search.
All producers licensed as Surplus Lines Producers in Idaho must register with the Surplus Line Association of Idaho. For more information about this
requirement, please visit www.idahosurplusline.org .
Idaho Code in Connection with Surplus Lines Brokers
- §41-1211 (Purpose of Surplus Line Law).
- §41-1212 (Exemptions from Surplus Lines Law).
- §41-1213 (Definitions).
- §41-1214 (Conditions for Export, Surplus Line Membership, Diligent Search).
- §41-1215 (Broker’s Affidavit).
- §41-1216 (Open Lines for Export).
- §41-1217 (Eligible Surplus Lines Insurers).
- §41-1218 (Penalty for Violation of §41-1217).
- §41-1219 (Evidence of the Insurance, Changes, and Penalty).
- §41-1220 (Endorsement of Contract).
- §41-1221 (Surplus Line Insurance Valid).
- §41-1222 (Liability of Insurer as to Losses and Unearned Premiums).
- §41-1223 (Licensing of Surplus Line Brokers).
- §41-1224 (Suspension or Revocation of Broker’s license).
- §41-1226 (Acceptance of Business from Agents).
- §41-1227 (Records Required and Retention).
- §41-1228 (Annual Report).
- §41-1229 (Tax on Surplus Line).
- §41-1230 (Failure to File Report or Remit Tax).
- §41-1231 (Legal Process Against Surplus Line Insurer).
- §41-1232 (Rules and Regulations).
- §41-1233 (Acceptance of Business from Agents).
- §41-1234 (Records of Insureds).
- §41-1007 (1) (Licensing Requirements)
- §41-1008 (Reinstatements, Military, 30 Day Address Change Requirement)
- §41-1009 (State to State Address Change and Reciprocity)
- §41-1011 (Refusal of License)
- §41-1012 (Exemption from Exam and 90 day rule)
- §41-1013 (Renewal/Reinstatement and late CE penalty requirements)
- §41-1014 (Assumed Names)
- §41-1016 (Administrative Penalty/Suspension, Revocation, Refusal of License)
- §41-1020 (Reciprocity)
- §41-1021 (Reporting of Actions)
- §41-1026 (Conditions of Suspension and Revocation)
- §41-1027 (Return of License)
IDAPA Rule 18
Return to Surplus Lines Broker Menu
Not all inclusive. Please refer to Chapter 10 and 12 for further definitions.
- Broker means a surplus line broker duly licensed as such under Idaho Title 41, Chapter 12,
including resident surplus line brokers and nonresident surplus line brokers. A Broker is required to procure certain
insurance coverage that cannot be procured from authorized insurers.