Non-Resident Individual Producer

This page contains important reference material for your new license.

PRODUCER LICENSE

An insurance producer is a licensed salesperson working for an insurance agency. The main goal of the insurance producer is to acquire new customers and cross-sell new policies to existing customers of the agency.

All individuals (producers) are required to be licensed if they sell, solicit, or negotiate (act as a producer) insurance products in Idaho.

LICENSE RENEWAL

You are responsible for the timely renewal of your license.

- Your license does not automatically renew.
- To renew online please <u>click here</u>.
- Licenses are issued for 2 years and expire on the last day of your birth month.
- You can renew up to 90 days prior to expiration.
- The renewal fee must be received or postmarked prior to your expiration date to avoid paying a late fee.

LATE RENEWALS

If your license is not renewed before the expiration date it will require reactivation.

- To reinstate your license online <u>click here</u>.
- Reactivation is available up to one year past the expiration of the license.
- There is a non-refundable fee of \$120 if submitted online or \$160 if submitted by paper. plus applicable processing fees for reactivation.

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

agent@doi.idaho.gov - www.doi.idaho.gov 700 W State St Fl 3, PO Box 83720, Boise, ID 83720 Phone: 208/334-4339 - Fax: 208/334-4398

LICENSE COPIES

You can download a free copy of your license via the <u>License Manager</u>.

Idaho no longer sends a paper license.

ACTIVITIES REQUIRING A LICENSE

Licensure is required for any entity engaged in the following activities:

- Discussing insurance with customers or potential customers.
- Selling any insurance policy or contract.
- Giving advice about the benefits, advantages, or disadvantages under any policy of insurance that could be issued in Idaho.
- Negotiating with a customer. This includes any interaction with customers concerning the possibility of obtaining insurance.

For a full list of activities which require a license please refer to the following Idaho Codes: <u>§41-1003</u>, <u>§41-1004</u>, <u>§41-1005</u>

ADDING A LINE OF AUTHORITY

To add a line of authority you need to:

- Hold the Line of Authority in your home state.
- Submit an add line request via <u>NIPR</u>

UPDATING YOUR INFORMATION

Please use the following link to update your address, phone number or e-mail address:

• Update Contact Information via NIPR

Changes may also be submitted directly to the DOI via the following forms:

- Name Change, Individual
- Update Address Form, State to State

VOLUNTARY SURRENDER

In the event that you wish to discontinue your Idaho License you may choose to submit a <u>voluntary surrender form</u>. This form is required to be notarized.

Please note that Idaho has no penalty for letting a license lapse due to non renewal.

REPORTING OF ACTIONS

Licensees have a duty to report any criminal or administrative actions to the Idaho Department of Insurance within 30 days of the action.

We encourage the use of the NIPR Reporting of Actions Warehouse at www.nipr.com as a convenient means of making your documents and explanations available.

