
PUBLIC ADJUSTER 

   Public Adjuster licenses are issued to individuals 
and agencies, residents, and non-residents. Aside 
from attorneys and the broker of record, Public 
Adjusters are the only type of claims Adjuster that 
can legally represent the rights of an insured     
during an insurance claim process in Idaho.  

PUBLIC ADJUSTER BOND 

   Per Idaho Code §41-5812, public adjusters must 
file and maintain a surety performance bond or 
Financial Institution Irrevocable Letter of Credit in 
the amount of $20,000 in favor of trust to the    
Director.  

   If your bond is cancelled, you will receive notice 
from the Department. If the bond/letter of credit is 
not replaced before cancellation date of the bond/
letter of credit, the license will be terminated. 

VOLUNTARY SURRENDER 

   In the event that you wish to discontinue your 
Idaho License you may choose to submit a 

voluntary surrender form. This form is required to 
be notarized. 

   Please note that Idaho has no penalty for letting a 
license lapse due to non renewal. 

LICENSE RENEWAL 

    You are responsible for the timely renewal of 
your license.   

• To renew online please click here.  

• Licenses are issued for 2 years and expire on 
the last day of your birth month.  

• You can renew up to 90 days before your     
license  expires.  

• The renewal fee must be received or post-
marked prior to your expiration date to avoid 
paying a late fee.  

• Appointments/registrations are terminated once 
a license is lapsed. 

LATE RENEWALS  

If your license is inactive for either Failure to    
Renew or  Suspended for Education you can still 
renew your license late for up to one year past      
expiration. 

    Late renewals are double the cost of a timely 
renewal plus any applicable late CE fees. 

 

LICENSE COPIES  

      You can download a free copy of your license 
via the License Manager. 
   Idaho no longer sends a paper license. 

REPORTING OF ACTIONS 

    Licensees have a duty to report any criminal or 
administrative actions to the Idaho Department of 
Insurance within 30 days of the action. 
    We encourage the use of the NIPR Reporting of 
Actions Warehouse at www.nipr.com as a  
convenient means of making your documents and   
explanations available.  

UPDATING YOUR INFORMATION 

    Please use the following link to update your  
address, phone number or e-mail address: 

• Update Contact Information via NIPR  

 

    Changes may also be submitted directly to the 
DOI via the following forms: 

• Name Change, Individual  

• Update Address Form, State to State 

 

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE  
agent@doi.idaho.gov   -  www.doi.idaho.gov  

700 W State St Fl 3, PO Box 83720,  Boise, ID  83720  

Phone: 208/334-4339   -  Fax: 208/334-4398  

This page contains important reference material for your new license. 

http://doi.idaho.gov/wp-content/uploads/Licensing/Voluntary-Surrender-Request-BE-with-Affidavit.pdf
https://doi.idaho.gov/industry/licensing-services/license-types/adjuster-public/?accordion=ui-id-11
https://www.statebasedsystems.com/solar/index.html
https://nipr.com/licensing-center/change-contact-info
https://doi.idaho.gov/wp-content/uploads/Licensing/IndividualNameChangeForm.pdf
https://doi.idaho.gov/wp-content/uploads/Licensing/State-to-State-Address-Change-Form.pdf



