
INS-PTX-Instructions_RiskRetentionGroups (11-2023) 
Page 1 of 4 

STATE OF IDAHO 
DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 
700 WEST STATE STREET, 3RD FLOOR 
PO BOX 83720 
BOISE, ID 83720-0043 
PHONE (208) 334-4250 
FAX (208) 334-4398 
 
 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING AND FILING  
STATEMENTS OF PREMIUM TAXES  

RISK RETENTION GROUPS  
 
 

1. Read these instructions carefully before completing the Statement of Premium Taxes and Fees.  If there are any 
questions regarding this filing, contact the Premium Tax Section at (208) 334-4281 or email 
premiumtax@doi.idaho.gov. 
 

2. All Non-Idaho Exhibits, Schedules, and Supplements referred to within the Statement of Premium Taxes and Fees 
and these instructions may be found in the NAIC Annual Statement. 
 

3. The Idaho Department of Insurance has adopted a mandatory e-file policy.  All tax and fee filings must be submitted 
electronically. Idaho Code §41-402, 41-4805 (3). Electronic filings must be submitted by one of the following 
methods: 

 
❖ Directly through TriTech Premium Pro software, or 

 
❖ Idaho Department of Insurance Electronic Filing System located here. Or visit 

https://tritechsoft.com/efilenetid/efilenet/efiledefault.aspx 
 

Payments must be made by one of the following methods: 
 

❖ Check with TriTech payment voucher, or 
 

❖ Electronic Fund Transfer (EFT). ACH Credit or Wire Transfers are acceptable. Idaho does NOT accept ACH 
Debit or OPTins. Payment CANNOT be made through TriTech. MUST BE ENROLLED. 

 
To enroll in the Electronic Fund Transfer payment system, please complete the EFT Enrollment Form 
located on the Idaho Department of Insurance website at https://doi.idaho.gov/wp-
content/uploads/Company/EFT_Enrollment.pdf , and submit it to the Premium Tax Section at 
premiumtax@doi.idaho.gov . Enrollments are not processed from February 14 to July 31 due to tax filing 
volume. 

 
4. Each authorized insurance company shall file a Statement of Premium Taxes and Fees regardless of whether any 

insurance business was transacted in Idaho during the year.  Each formerly authorized insurer, with respect to 
insurance transacted while an authorized insurer, shall file a statement for any renewal premiums received during the 
calendar year.  Enclose a written notice if transferring policies from one insurer to another insurer because it also 
transfers the tax obligation with respect to those policies.  Idaho Code § 41-402. 
 

5. Late filing of the statement and remittance will result in a penalty of $25.00 for each day of delinquency, commencing 
March 2nd, through the date of submission of a complete filing (mandatory electronic filing AND payment). Idaho Code 
§ 41-404. Late filing penalties will be assessed for the following: 
  

▪ Late filing (electronic submission date) of the Statement of Taxes and Fees or any required schedule 
or exhibit. 

▪ Incomplete submission of the Statement of Taxes and Fees (missing signature). 
▪ Unpaid/underpaid tax (electronic settlement date or official postmark). 
▪ Electronic Fund Transfer (EFT) payment not in the correct bank account on the due date. 
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If paying by check, only an official U.S. Postal Service cancellation postmark on the envelope, rather than private 
postage meter stamp, shall qualify as proof of timely mailing.  If a carrier service is used, the mailing date will be 
determined by the package pick-up date, not the delivery date. 

 
Any tax payment in the amount of $100,000.00 or more MUST be made electronically. Idaho Code §67-2026. 
 

6. If paying by check, attach a check for the balance due to the TriTech payment voucher. Unidentifiable payments 
will be returned. When transmitting payment by EFT, it is CRITICAL the addenda instructions are followed, and the 
payment is sent to the correct premium tax type code (07170) for the Department of Insurance.  Late penalties will 
be assessed if payment is not in the correct bank account on the due date.  An EFT Enrollment Acceptance MUST be 
acquired prior to using this method.  If you need an EFT Enrollment Form, see Item #3 above. 
 

7. Requests for 30 day extensions or exemptions for filing the Annual Statement beyond the regular due date will not be 
required providing approval was granted by the domiciliary state and NAIC has been notified.  Extensions beyond 30 
days will require a written request for extension and domiciliary approval.  However, the Annual Continuation Fee 
MUST be submitted with the Statement of Premium Taxes and Fees on or before March 1st, regardless of extensions.  
Idaho Code §41-402 (1), 41-324. 
 

8. For all electronic filings, the typed name of the officer signing under oath is acceptable. If you need additional 
instructions, contact this office as listed in Item #1.    Idaho Code § 41-402 (1). 
 

9. The Tax Statement must be filed regardless of negative premium or if no business was written. ZERO FILINGS ARE 
REQUIRED. 

 
 
10. PAGE  1 - RECAP OF TAXES 
 

A. Enter the company information. Enter the company’s NAIC Number on Page 1 in the box provided. The 
company name, address, and state of domicile must be completed on all tax forms as refunds and 
correspondence will be sent to this address. 

 
B. Line 1. Tax Due. Carry forward only the higher aggregate retaliatory tax amount calculated on Page 3, 

Schedule B, Line 4, either Column A or B. 
 
C. Line 2. Prepayments. Enter the amounts of quarterly prepayments. 
 
D. Line 3. Total Tax. Total of Line 1 less Line 2.  If the amount on Line 3 is negative, carry amount forward to Line 

5 - Refund Due for Tax Overpayment.  Any refund due for the overpayment of premium taxes will be mailed 
to the company address indicated on the company's tax statement after it has been audited. Idaho Code § 
41-402(10). 

 
E. Line 4. Amount Enclosed. Overpayment of tax may not be used to offset penalties. Calcualted total (Line 3). 

 
a. If a refund of premium tax is due on Line 5 (also negative amount of Line 3), enter 0. 

 
b. If there is premium tax due on Line 3 (positive amount on Line 3), submit payment for the 

amount of Line 3 (tax due). 
 

F. Line 5 - Refund Due. This is the overpayment of tax (negative tax amount) calculated on Line 3. Per Idaho 41-
402A. Refunds.  “No such refund shall be paid after one (1) year from the due date of the statement required 
in section 41-402(A), Idaho Code, unless before the expiration of such period a written claim is filed therefore 
by the insurer on such forms and in such manner as is prescribed by the director.” 

 
G. The tax statement must be signed and dated by an Officer of the company. Typed signatures are permitted 

for electronic filings. By the appropriate signature, being duly sworn upon oath, it is declared that the 
premium tax report is a complete, true, and correct statement of all premiums and fees on business written 

http://www.legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title41/T41CH4SECT41-402.htm
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by said company, for the reporting year on insurance, property, or risks resident, or located, in Idaho.  
Unsigned forms will be considered incomplete. See item #8. 

 
H. All questions concerning the tax statement will be directed to the contact person as stated on page 1 of the 

Tax Statement. Include a direct telephone number with extension and  e-mail address. If the contact person 
changes after the submission of the Statement of Premium Taxes and Fees, please contact the Premium Tax 
Section as indicated in item #1. 
 
 

11. PAGE 2 - SCHEDULE A - COMPUTATION OF PREMIUM TAX 
 

A. Line 1. Total Direct Premiums Written. Should agree with premium as reported on the NAIC Annual 
Statement, Idaho Business Page and Schedule T.  A complete explanation of any differences between the tax 
statement and annual statement schedules must be submitted and signed by the person authorized by the 
company to prepare the tax statement. 

 
B. Line 2. Total Premiums.  Calcualted total (total of Line 1). 

 
C. Line 3.  Dividends Paid or Credited to the Account of Policyholder. Report dividends paid or credited to the 

account of policyholders.  
 

D. Line 4.  Net taxable premiums. Calculated total (Line 3 less Line 3).  
 
E. Line 5.  Premium Tax. Calculated total  (Line 4 times 1.5% Idaho tax rate).  

 
 
12. PAGE 3 - SCHEDULE B - COMPUTATION OF RETALIATORY TAXES 
 

MUST BE INCLUDED WITH RETURN 
Idaho Code § 41-340(2) and (3) 

Attach Retaliatory Tax Calculation Worksheet 
 

A. This schedule determines the higher aggregate of taxes due.  For audit verification, we may be contacting the various 
state insurance departments, using copies of the domicile state’s tax statements, the NAIC Retaliatory Guide, or 
domiciliary code. 
 

B. Column A, Calculated from other schedules. 
 

C. Column B, Retaliatory taxes. Should be calculated on the retaliatory basis of what an Idaho company doing the 
identical volume of business would be required to pay to your state of domicile.  An explanation of calculations will 
be requested to explain any differences in reporting. 

 
D. Column B, Line 1. Risk Retention Group Premiums. Report Net Taxable Premium per domicile state.  Include an 

explanation of any differences between Column A and Column B. 
 

E. Column B, Line 1A. Tax Rate. Enter premium tax rate per domicile state in Column B. 
 

F. Column B, Line 1B.  Premium Tax. Multiply Column B, Line 1 by the rate in Column B, Line 1A. 
 

G. Line 2. Municipal, City or County Premiums. Enter municipal, city or county premiums per domicile state in Column B. 
Attach an explanation. 

 
H. Line 2A. Tax Rate. Enter domicile tax rate in Column B. 

 
I. Line 2B. Premium Tax. Calculated total (multiply Line 2 by Line 2A in Column B and enter domicile premium tax in 

Column B). 
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J. Line 3, Column B. Other Taxes.  Corporate/Income/Excises Taxes MUST be sated, even if zero. Enter all other taxes 
imposed by your state of domicile, including state income/corporate/excise/minimum tax, on foreign insurers must 
be reported except: 

 
▪ Ad valorem taxes on real or personal property. 
▪ Personal income, capital or surplus taxes. 
▪ Taxes imposed for a special purpose obligations or assessments on particular kinds of insurance.  

 
K. Line 4. Total Taxes. Precalculated total (add Lines 1B, 2B and 3 for each Column A and B). 

 
L. An explanation of retaliatory calculations will be requested for any discrepancies. 

 


