# **Surplus Lines Broker**

This page contains important reference material for your new license.

#### IDAHO SURPLUS LINE ASSOCIATION (SLA):

Membership with the SLA is mandatory to ensure timely and accurate premium and tax reporting, per §41-1214(1).

- All brokers must file an electronic affidavit for each Idaho surplus line placement.
- To avoid late fees, filings must be done within 30 days of receipt of the policy.
- To ensure accuracy of your filings, use your credentials to <u>log in</u> and view/print your accepted filings.
- Contact Carrie at <u>carrie@idahosurplusline.org</u> for login in assistance.

# PREMIUM TAX

The SLA will send notification of amount of Premium Tax due for each broker to the DOI.

- Immediately following calendar year end, the SLA will send you a notification of accumulated annual premium volume and tax totals due.
- Please note that Idaho requires zero tax filings.
- Premium Tax must be submitted to the DOI on or before March 1<sup>st</sup> of each year.
- A late penalty of \$25 per day of delinquency after April 1<sup>st</sup> will be assessed by the DOI based on the postmark and/or electronic submission date.
- Reporting of \$0 premium is required and subject to late penalties after April 1st.

## LICENSE COPIES

You can download a free copy of your license via the <u>License Manager</u>.

Idaho no longer sends a paper license.

## **IDAHO DILIGENT SEARCH REPORT**

Surplus lines brokers must

- Perform a diligent search of licensed insurers before procuring insurance through a surplus lines insurer.
- Keep a full record of each surplus line coverage procured in their office for 5 years.
- Document the search for at least 1 admitted carrier in Idaho before writing coverage.
- Make documentation of the diligent search available to the DOI for periodic audits upon request.

The diligent search requirement is waived if the risk is approved for export. Such risks can be identified on the SLA website. It is also waived for an Exempt Commercial Purchaser as defined in §41-1213.

# UPDATING YOUR INFORMATION

Please use the following links to update the information on your license.

•Update Contact Information via NIPR

•Name Change, Individual

#### LICENSE RENEWAL

You are responsible for the timely renewal of your license. Licenses are issued for 2 years and expire on the last day of your birth month.

- Your license does not automatically renew.
- Separate renewals are needed for Producer and Surplus Lines Licenses. You can't hold Surplus Lines if the Producer License lapses.
- To renew online please click here
- The renewal fee must be received or postmarked prior to the expiration date to avoid a late fee.
- Residents renewing past the expiration date of the license will need to be reinstated.

### SURRENDER OF SURPLUS LINE LICENSE

It is critical to use the correct form in order to avoid penalties. The form needs to be submitted even if you have zero premium tax due. Link to the form :<u>Voluntary Surrender form for a</u> <u>Surplus Lines License</u>

### **REPORTING OF ACTIONS**

Licensees have a duty to report any criminal or administrative actions to the Idaho Department of Insurance within 30 days of the action.

We encourage the use of the NIPR Reporting of Actions Warehouse at www.nipr.com as a convenient means of making your documents and explanations available.



# DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE

agent@doi.idaho.gov - www.doi.idaho.gov 700 W State St Fl 3, PO Box 83720, Boise, ID 83720 Phone: 208/334-4339 - Fax: 208/334-4398