Continuing Education (CE)

Idaho requires Producers and Adjusters take Continuing Education (CE) in order to renew their licenses. The CE must be completed within each 2 year renewal cycle. Extra CE does not carry over to the next cycle, nor does any CE taken prior to licensure.

CE REQUIREMENT

Idaho requires CE residents who hold one of the following licenses.

Producer - Independent Adjusters Public Adjusters - Bail Bond Agents

24 total hours of CE are required for each 2 year renewal period with a minimum of 3 hours in ethics.

MANDATED TRAINING

The following sales require specific training. **Long-term care:**

• During the initial license period 8 hours in Partnership Policies & Their Relationship to Public and Private Coverage for Long-Term Care is required. Every renewal afterwards a 4 hour refresher is required.

Flood insurance

• A one-time three-hour course related to the NFIP

Best Interest Annuities

• For the first renewal 4 hours of <u>Best Interest Annuities</u> is required with 1 hour refresher each renewal.

APPROVED CE COURSES

All of Idaho's approved CE courses can be found in the <u>Continuing Education Catalogue</u>. The CE course catalogue be accessed via the <u>SBS license manager</u> or by <u>clicking here</u>.

CHECKING YOUR CE STATUS

Your CE transcript is available <u>online</u>. When you complete courses, the provider will upload directly to this transcript. The history of your past licensing renewal periods is also found in your continuing education course transcript.

CE providers have 30 days to upload your credits into the system. Your license will not be renewed until your CE credits are in the system.

COURSE CREDITS

CE course providers are required to upload earned credits directly into the Sircon licensing record for you within 30 days of completing the course.

You may take credits any time within your renewal period. We recommend that you complete your CE as early as you can.

EXEMPTIONS FROM CE REQUIRMENTS

The following licenses are exempt from CE:

- •Business entity
- •Non-resident producer
- •Surplus lines licenses

The following lines of authority have no CE requirements if they are the **only** line you carry:

- •Credit
- Travel
- Pet

CE & RENEWALS

Your license **does not** automatically renew when your CE is completed.

You must submit a license renewal application, either online or by paper, before the expiration date. Late renewal applications will result in a late fee.

FAILURE TO COMPLETE CE ON TIME

If you did not complete the CE before the license's expiration date a fee will need to be paid in addition to the renewal fee. This penalty is scaled by CE completion time frame:

- 30 days or under: \$100
- 31-60 days: **\$200**
- 61-90 days: \$300
- 91-365 days: You will need to re-test and submit a renewal application with the non-refundable \$80 fee in addition to completing the CE.
- 1 year +: You will need to start the licensing process again from the beginning.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

For more information on Continuing Education please visit the Idaho Department of Insurance Continuing Education website.



agent@doi.idaho.gov - www.doi.idaho.gov 700 W State St Fl 3, PO Box 83720, Boise, ID 83720 Phone: 208/334-4339 - Fax: 208/334-4398

