Official Government Website

Continuing Education for Education Providers

Idaho’s continuing education course applications are reviewed by an advisory committee monthly. This committee reviews applications and determines whether to approve for CE credit in Idaho. This committee meets the first Friday of each month and applications must be submitted no later than 12:00am the Friday prior to the meeting.

NAIC CE Reciprocity

Idaho is a member of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners. The NAIC has models for continuing education that we try to remain in compliance with for courses and providers in Idaho. Idaho is reciprocal with other states where a provider already has approval for courses in their home state. However, the course also must meet the standards and criteria for Idaho Statute.

If you choose to submit your course for approval based on NAIC CE Reciprocity, please submit all of the same documentation with your NAIC CE Reciprocity application form, plus a document that proves current approval in the home state.

Please note that Idaho has the right per Statute to approve fewer credits than in your home state. We cannot deny a course that meets NAIC CE Reciprocity but may require you to submit additional materials or explanations to decide.

Full information on the NAIC guidelines can be found on NAIC’s website . It is strongly suggested that providers familiarize themselves with these Statutes, Rules, and guidelines. These documents outline course criteria, classroom monitoring requirements, course approval processes, course maintenance requirements, and other topics regarding CE in Idaho.

Course Approval Process

Providers are subject to Idaho regulations for CE as defined in Idaho Statutes Title 41, and as specifically set out in the Idaho Administrative Code (IDAPA) 18.01.53. Additionally, as a member of the NAIC, Idaho follows guidelines and recommendations of that organization.

Idaho uses the Vertafore Continuing Education system for Provider approval, submitting CE courses, producer CE transcripts and Instructor approval maintenance.  A new provider will subscribe through Vertafore and obtain approval through this online process at no fee and then begin submitting course applications, course renewals or cancellations and course rosters through this service.  See the Vertafore catalog of available services for providers .

Courses are approved for a two-year period. During this two-year period, the provider may present the course (offerings) as often as they wish.

*tutorial through this link for Vertafore provider services:

  • Non-refundable fee for each course approval of $25.
  • Courses are approved for a two-year period.
  • A non-refundable fee for each course renewal of $25. Courses are allowed a one-time renewal.
  • Providers are required to download earned credits to licensee records through Vertafore Continuing Education Provider Portal within 30 days of course completion.
  • Idaho regulation for Continuing Education is found in the Idaho Administrative Code (IDAPA) 18.06.04.

Additionally, as a member of the NAIC, Idaho follows guidelines and recommendations of that organization with regards to Continuing Education.  These guidelines can be found on the NAIC website.  This includes use of the current CER form, which indicates that courses approved by Idaho have had a substantive review by the Idaho CE Advisory Committee.

Idaho’s continuing education course applications are reviewed by a voluntary advisory committee of subject matter experts.

Courses submitted after presentation must be submitted within 30 days of that presentation through the Vertafore Provider portal.  Provider may not guarantee/advertise CE credits before being approved.  Courses submitted after 30 days from presentation will be denied.

Credit is granted in full hours only, based on actual instruction time; one hour equals one credit. Each approved hour will be 60 minutes in duration and must include at least 50 minutes of instruction.

Idaho has no separate provider approval process. CE course providers are approved when their first course is approved. There is a $20 application fee. Once you are an approved provider of CE in Idaho, and established as a Sircon provider, you will be able to submit applications and maintain course information online.

Course Application Check List

All course applications, whether for a new or a renewing course, filed on paper or online, have certain required documents that must be filed.


CLASSROOM COURSE:

1. Course Application form (either Exhibit A or NAIC CE Reciprocity form) threw Sircon.

2. Detailed outline or agenda, with timing of segments indicated.

3. Instructor Approval Forms for each instructor who has not already been approved in Idaho for the provider.

4. $25.00 non-refundable processing fee for each application.

SELF-STUDY COURSE:

1. Course Application (process through Sircon Provider portal)*

2. Detailed outline or agenda, timing of segments must be included

3. Instructor Approval Forms for each instructor (see above)

4. $25.00 non-refundable processing fee for each application

WEBINAR COURSE:

1. Course application (process through Sircon Provider portal)*

2. Detailed outline or agenda, timing of segments must be included (if PowerPoint, copies of slides must be included, indicating timing for each slide)

3. If self-study webinar – copy of written exam is required

4. $25.00 non-refundable processing fee for each application

*if applying using NAIC CE Reciprocity – copy of home state approval letter is required. Documents can be attached to online applications on www.Sircon.com.  Files must be in Microsoft Word or PDF format.

Course Maintenance

Renewal

Courses may be renewed up to 45 days prior to expiration and 30 days past expiration through the Vertafore Provider portal.  A one-time renewal is allowed.

Courses must be submitted for renewal exactly as they were originally approved. NO changes allowed. 

If your curriculum, format, presentation method, course category or content has changed, do not renew; please submit as a new course. 

Once approved as a provider in Idaho, course applications can be submitted electronically by logging into a Sircon for a Providers account. To login or sign-up for an account click here.  

Once logged into the account, click “Education”, then click “Course Renewal”

Step by step instruction is available here.

Cancelling a Course Offering

Classroom or course offerings can be cancelled from within your Sircon account.  To login or sign-up for an account click here

Once logged into the account, click “Education”, then click “Classroom Offering Maintenance”.  Use the Course ID to find open course offerings. Click the offering ID, then select ‘Cancel Offering’, select a reason for the cancellation, and then click ‘Update’.

Here is a Vertafore support article for this.

Course Category Designations

Course categories are determined by the provider.  Please select the course category best suited to your course curriculum.  Identical courses may be submitted in different formats as separate courses. Those courses will be given unique course numbers but will be linked as identical.

Licensees may take courses in any category.  They are not limited to courses in their lines of authority or license type.  However, they are required to take a total of 24 credit hours every two years, with a minimum of three hours in an Ethics course category and must also be sure to take mandated training as appropriate for their lines of authority.

Mandated training/education requirements for Idaho include Long Term Care, Flood and Annuity Suitability Best Interest.

All course categories for Idaho can be found here.

Classes may have a combination of course categories.  If you don’t see a combination that fits your curriculum, you may specify different categories for segments of your course, but you must indicate how many credits you are requesting in each category. 

Instruction Methods

Due to recent trends toward online educational methods, the NAIC has recently adopted new definitions for describing course methods of instruction. The current version of the Idaho Exhibit A application form lists two methods of instruction: Classroom and Self-study.

The structure for presenting a course is defined as follows:

Classroom is defined as direct contact with an instructor, in real time. This contact may be in a physical classroom (Seminar/Workshop); in a ‘virtual’ classroom on the internet via a live webinar; via telephone as a teleconference (with or without a visual component); or other, which is defined by the provider, but which must still be direct contact in real time. These presentation methods do not require an exam or other knowledge assessment tool but does require interactive behavior that is monitored during the session.

Self-study is defined as no direct contact with an instructor. These courses may be correspondence, where printed material is provided to the student for their study and testing; online training which is a static (pre-recorded) training module accessed online per the student’s timeframe; video/audio/CD/DVD which is material in those formats that is provided to the student for their study and testing. These presentation methods require an exam or some other knowledge assessment tool.

Self-study course must include an examination or other knowledge assessment tool. These must require a passing score of 70% or better. The provider must maintain multiple tests sufficient to maintain the integrity of the testing process and a written explanation of test security and administrations procedures shall accompany the course submission. Completed tests will be retained by the provider and will not be returned to the licensee.

For both methods exams must require a passing score of 70%or better. The provider must maintain multiple tests, sufficient to maintain the integrity of the testing process and a written explanation of test security and administrative procedures shall accompany the course submission. Completed tests will be retained by the provider and will not be returned to the licensee.

Attendance Verification

Where attendance is the method for determining satisfactory course completion (classroom presentations), the provider is required to do the following:

For PHYSICAL CLASSROOM courses:

  1. Designate a person, other than the instructor, to monitor the entire class. Instructor may be the monitor for 15 or fewer attendees.
  2. Assure attendance criteria are adhered to and advise all attendees of the criteria prior to the commencement of the class. Providers may advise attendees of the course of the attendance criteria by giving them a copy prior to the class.
  3. Assure that attendees sign in prior to the class commencement. Course attendees who arrive more than 10 minutes late or leave 10 minutes or more before the class ends will not be given credit for the class. Assure that attendees sign out at the conclusion of the class.
  4. Courses which are two to four hours in duration will have a minimum of one random pass-around sign-in sheet. Attendees who are not present in the room when the random sign-in sheets are passed around will not be given credit for the class.
  5. Courses of four hours or more in duration will have a minimum of two random pass-around sign-in sheets. Attendees who are not present in the room when the random sign-in sheets are passed around will not be given credit for the class.
  6. The above-mentioned criteria apply each day to courses that extend over two or more days.

For ‘VIRTUAL’ CLASSROOM courses:

  1. Designate a person, other than the instructor, to monitor the entire class. Instructor may be the monitor for 15 or fewer attendees.
  2. Assure attendance criteria are adhered to and advise all attendees of the criteria prior to the commencement of the class. Providers may advise attendees of the course of the attendance criteria by giving them a copy prior to the class.
  3. Assure that attendees sign in prior to the class commencement. Course attendees who arrive more than 10 minutes late will not be given credit for the class.
  4. Assure that attendees sign out at the conclusion of the class. Course attendees who leave prior to the conclusion of the class will not be given credit. Student attendance is based on personally identifiable information, such as username, password, email, government-issued identification, electronic signature.
  5. Attendance is monitored via student participation or interaction with course activities. This can be accomplished via regular polling questions; periodic activities where required interaction is specifically monitored for each attendee, etc.

The purpose of the above-mentioned criteria is to help ensure attendance and attention at course sessions which grant satisfactory completion. The monitor has the authority to withhold course credit from any attendee who does not give satisfactory attention. Failure to comply with these requirements will result in loss of certification in accordance with Section 023 of IDAPA 18.06.04.

Responsibilities’ After Presenting a Session

After each presentation of a course, the provider must complete the following within 30 days of the course completion date:

Per IDAPA rule, the provider will issue a certificate of completion to each attendee who successfully completed the course.

Per IDAPA rule, the provider will upload course credits via the Vertafore system Provider Portal for download to the attendees’ licensing record. 

FAQ

How do I become an approved CE provider in Idaho?

Provider applications can be submitted electronically on Sircon.com by logging into a Sircon for Providers account. To login or sign-up for an account click here. Once logged into the account, click “Education”, then click “Provider Application” step-by step available here.

How do I submit a course application online?

Once approved as a provider in Idaho, course applications can be submitted electronically by logging into a Sircon for Providers account. To login or sign-up for an account click here. (https://www.sircon.com/products/education/index.jsp) Once logged into the account, click “Education”, then click “Continuing Education Course Application” step by step is available here.

If I am not an approved provider, how do I submit a course application?

A provider application can be submitted Sircon.com by logging into a Sircon for Providers account. To login or sign-up for an account click here. Once approved as a provider, course applications can then be submitted through Sircon.com from within the account.

How are courses approved in Idaho?

Idaho’s continuing education course applications are reviewed by an advisory committee on a monthly basis, the first Friday of the month. This committee reviews all new applications and determines whether or not to approve for CE credit in Idaho.

What is the deadline to submit a course application?

The committee meets the first Friday of each month and applications must be submitted online and received no later than 12:00 am the Friday prior to each meeting.

How long is a course approved for when approved?

Two years. You may offer sessions of the course as often as you like during that period.

How does Idaho determine how many credits I can request?

Idaho uses only actual instruction time to determine how many hours you may request. We do not use word count, slide or page numbers. Each 60 minute hour must have at least 50 minutes of instruction. Each 50-minute instruction hour equals one CE credit hour.

How do I renew a course in Idaho?

Once approved as a provider in Idaho, course applications can be submitted electronically by logging into a Sircon for Providers account. To login or sign-up for an account click here.

Once logged into the account, click “Education”, then click “Course Renewal” step by step is available here.

What paperwork do I need to attach to my online application?

The same paperwork as a paper application must be submitted when applying online.

How do I cancel a course offering?

Classroom or course offerings can be cancelled from within your Sircon account. To login or sign-up for an account click here. Once logged into the account, click “Education”, then click “Classroom Offering Maintenance”. Use the Course ID to find open course offerings. Click the offering ID, then select ‘Cancel Offering’, select a reason for the cancellation, and then click ‘Update’. View the Vertafore support article here.

How do I submit course credits / course completions / course rosters?

Course credits for attendees can be submitted electronically on Sircon.com by logging into a Sircon for Providers account. To login or sign-up for an account click here. Once logged into the account, click “Education”, then click “Continuing Education Course Completions”.

How can I view the status and history of course applications and course completions?

For course applications and course completions submitted within a Sircon account. Click here to sign-in. Once logged into the account, click “Education”, then click “Education Activity Inquiry”. Enter the date range you are interested in; all other fields are optional.

Have more questions?
Contact the Licensing Team

ver: 3.4.0 | last updated: