Official Government Website

Continuing Education for Licensed Professionals

To be sure you are taking courses that will apply, use our Course Catalog , which shows only currently approved Idaho courses. You contact the provider directly to sign up for courses.

Remember you need to enter an application for renewal, this is a separate step.

Idaho Statutes

Insurance Code General Insurance Law for Idaho

IDAPA 18.06.04 Continuing Education Rules –

Bulletin 07-1  Federal Emergency Management Agency Flood Insurance training requirements for insurance producers selling through the National Flood Insurance Program, and recommendations regarding the sale of Flood Insurance.

Bulletin 06-5 Long term Care Partnership Training Requirements

Notice to Life/Annuities Insurers and Producers, April 15, 2013

Transcript Inquiry

Your CE transcript is available online. When you complete courses, the provider will upload directly to this transcript and the record will indicate when you have completed your CE requirement. The history of your past licensing renewal periods is also found here: Compliance Express .

To view previous renewal periods, click the down arrow next to the field titled Education Review Period and select the correct dates.

By law, CE providers have 30 days to upload your credits into the system. Your license will not be renewed until your CE credit is in the system.

Courses

The course catalog is accessed from our website. This is the best source of approved course information because it will only show a list of providers and courses that are approved and active in Idaho. When you select courses/providers from the catalog, you are selecting courses that count toward your CE requirement for licensing: Compliance Express.

To search by courses, select Approved Courses Inquiry.

To search by provider, select Approved Providers Inquiry.

Select Idaho from the drop-down list and click submit.

If you searched for approved courses, a screen will appear where you can define your search. If you want all courses, just click Submit.

A list of providers will appear (name of provider is in the black bar, white lettering), followed by their currently approved courses. Scroll through the list to find courses you want.

Contact the provider directly to find out how to register, take the course, and how much it costs. You can do this by clicking on their name in the black bar and contacting them via the information provided here.

If you searched for approved providers, the next screen will have a drop down arrow next to the provider name field, with an alphabetical list by provider name. Search for the provider you want, highlight the name, and click submit.

That provider’s contact information will be displayed.

The far right column, Courses, has a link to the courses.

Contact the provider directly to find out how to register, take the course, and how much it costs.

Long Term Care

Any producer who sells, solicits, or negotiates a long-term care policy under Idaho’s Long-Term Care Insurance Partnership Program must receive eight hours of training in and demonstrate an understanding of Partnership Policies and their relationship to public and private coverage for long-term care.

Producers are also required to complete four hours of long-term care insurance training every 24 months. Timing starts the date of the last course you took.

See Bulletin 06-5 for more information.

The carriers are responsible for tracking this Federally mandated continuing education requirement. You must be able to provide them with proof of compliance if asked to do so.

This requirement schedule must be met if you sell Long Term Care products in Idaho.

For convenience, our CE course catalog has a category titled Long Term Care. All courses listed in this category will meet the Federal education mandate.

Flood

All insurance producers licensed in property, casualty or personal lines of authority who sell flood insurance through the NFIP must complete a one-time three-hour course related to the NFIP.

The NFIP flood insurance course is available through approved continuing education providers. Failure to comply with this continuing education requirement may jeopardize the insurance producer’s authority to write flood insurance through the NFIP.

The carriers are responsible for tracking this Federally mandated continuing education requirement. You must be able to provide them with proof of compliance if asked to do so.

For convenience, our CE course catalog has a category titled Flood. All courses listed in this category will meet the Federal education mandate.

Suitability and Annuities

The Idaho Legislature approved a pending rule change to IDAPA 18 Title 06, Chapter 04 (IDAPA 18.01.09), which became effective when the Legislature adjourned on April 4, 2013.

The newly rewritten rule is based on the 2010 NAIC Model Regulation 275 and requires the producer or insurer to have reasonable grounds to believe an annuity is suitable based on specific information about the consumer prior to making a recommendation to the consumer.

The rule also requires producers selling annuity products to complete a one-time four-hour training, either through approved CE courses from approved providers, or through insurer-provided training that meets the NAIC 2010 Suitability in Annuities training requirement for course content. The producer training requirements are in section 16 of the rule (18.01.09.016).

The carriers are responsible for tracking this Federally mandated continuing education requirement. You must be able to provide them with proof of compliance if asked to do so.

For convenience, our CE course catalog has a category titled Annuities Suitability. All courses listed in this category will meet the Federal education mandate.

Exhibit E- CE Course Application

Producers may submit applications for credit for courses that have not been approved. Classroom, teleconference, or webcast courses that have not already been approved may be submitted using the Exhibit E application process.

Restrictions:

  • Application must be submitted at least 30 days prior to the next expiration date of your license.
  • Course must have been taken during the current renewal period; application must be submitted for committee review within 180 days of the
    completion date of the course.
  • The application form to use is the Exhibit E.
  • You must also attach a detailed/timed course outline or course agenda; a copy of your certificate of completion; and information about the qualifications of the instructor(s). No fee is required.
  • All Exhibit E submissions must be reviewed by the Advisory Committee. If the committee reviews your application and requests more information from you, the process will be delayed. Allow time for this possibility when submitting applications as extensions to the license renewal due date will not be granted due to an Exhibit E application.

FAQ

What is the CE requirement for renewing my license?

The CE requirement for residents is 24 hours to be earned within each two-year licensing period. At least 3 of those 24 hours must be in the Ethics course category. Limited lines producers, adjusters, and producers on formally requested and granted inactive status are exempt from the CE requirement at this time. Non-residents will be considered in compliance if they have satisfied the CE requirement for licensing in their resident state.

Are any licensees exempt from the CE requirement?

As of 9-17-2013, exemptions from CE requirement apply only to the following: Business entity licenses Non-resident producer licenses Limited Lines only producer licenses (credit, GAP, etc.) Surplus lines licenses

When will I be required to comply with the CE requirement?

We suggest you complete your CE courses at least three weeks prior to your expiration date.

Licenses will not be renewed if the CE requirement is not met prior to the license expiration date. This applies even if you have submitted an on-time license renewal application. Producers may not do business with an expired license. A CE penalty for late completion will begin accruing the day after the expiration date on the license. The penalty for completing the CE requirement after the license expiration date is as follows: 1-30 days past license expiration date $100 31-60 days past license expiration date $200 61-90 days past license expiration date $300 After 90 days but before 365, you will be required to re-test for the lines of authority you carry on your license as well as complete your CE requirements.

There is no grace period for the CE requirement or renewal deadlines! Monetary penalties will begin to accrue the day following your license expiration date. We use the date of course completion to determine if you were on-time.

Where can I find courses to fulfill my CE requirement?

Check the CE course catalog for approved courses: Select “Approved Courses Inquiry” Select “Idaho” – Choose your course category click Submit A list of courses will appear. Choose the ones you want and contact the provider directly to register (information is available when you click the provider name in the black bar).

How are my CE credits reported?

Providers download rosters electronically through Sircon. You are required to provide your Idaho license number for each course you attend and complete. You may check your CE transcripts through Sircon at any time. If you find an error in reporting, contact the CE provider directly. Licensees will receive certificates of completion for their records and must maintain these records for a period of five years. When renewing your license, do not send certificates of completion to the department unless you are specifically requested to do so.

Can I look up the status of my CE requirement on your website?

Yes. Using our website to access the Sircon transcript, you may check your CE status at any time. Select Continuing Education Transcript Inquiry from the list of inquiries. Then select Idaho from the drop down window. Enter your license number and last name and select Submit. Your most recent transcript period will appear, showing the courses you have completed and the status of your compliance.

Can I only complete CE courses within my lines of authority?

No. Any courses in the course catalog are acceptable; you are not limited to only the lines you carry on your license. However, Idaho Code requires you to complete a minimum of three hours of ethics each licensing period.

Can I carry over excess CE credit hours from one renewal period to the next?

No. Per rule 18.01.53, credit must be earned within renewal period.

Do I need CE for my agency license?

No.

Are producers with professional designations exempt from the CE requirement?

No. However, courses offered to earn professional designations may have been submitted for approval as CE insurance licensing credit in Idaho by the course provider. If so, you may also be able to use as CE credit for your Idaho insurance license. Check with the provider of the course.

Can a course be repeated?

Courses may not be repeated for credit within the same renewal period but may be repeated in subsequent renewal periods. Double-check the course completion date compared to the renewal period start/end dates to avoid duplication within the same renewal period.

What is the CE requirement for producers selling long-term care products?

Any producer who sells, solicits, or negotiates a long-term care policy must complete on-going LTC training if they are selling these products. For convenience, our CE course catalog has a category titled Long Term Care. All courses listed in this category will meet the Federal education mandate. See the Long-Term Care Education Requirement page for more details.

What is the CE requirement for producers selling flood insurance?

All insurance producers licensed in property, casualty or personal lines of authority who sell flood insurance through the NFIP must complete a one-time 3-hour course related to the NFIP. The NFIP flood insurance course is available through approved continuing education providers. Failure to comply with this continuing education requirement may jeopardize the insurance producer’s authority to write flood insurance through the NFIP. For convenience, our CE course catalog has a category titled Flood. All courses listed in this category will meet the Federal education mandate. See the Flood Education Requirement page for more details.

What is the CE requirement for producers who sell annuities products?

The Idaho Legislature approved a rule change to IDAPA 18 Title 01, Chapter 09 (IDAPA 18.01.09), which became effective when the Legislature The Idaho Legislature approved a rule change to IDAPA 18 Title 01, Chapter 09 (IDAPA 18.01.09), which became effective when the Legislature adjourned on April 4, 2013. The rule requires producers carrying the Lifeline of authority to complete a one-time 4 hour training, either through approved CE courses from approved providers, or through insurer-provided training that meets the NAIC 2010 Suitability in Annuities training requirement for course content. The producer training requirements are in section 16 of the rule (18.01.09.016). For convenience, our CE course catalog has a category titled Annuities Suitability. All courses listed in this category will meet the Federal education mandate. See the Suitability in Annuities Education Requirement for more details.

Can I receive credit for a course which has not been approved by the Advisory Committee?

We have a large selection of courses pre-approved for credit by our CE Advisory Committee that are available through our course catalog. We suggest you take advantage of the ease of use to complete your compliance for licensure. In addition, producers may submit applications for courses taken during the licensing period for credit. Classroom, teleconference, or webcast courses that have not already been approved may be submitted using the Exhibit E process. See the Exhibit E page for more details.

If I take more than 3 hours in Ethics, will the extra credits count?

Yes, the ethics requirement is for a minimum of three credits in the Ethics course category. If you take more than three, any extra credits will apply to the overall 24 hour total you need for the CE requirement for your license renewal.

Does Idaho require non-residents to take an Idaho specific Annuities Suitability course?

No, a state specific course is not required if they have taken a course in their home state that meets the NAIC 2010 Suitability in Annuities training requirement for course content.

Have more questions?
Contact the Licensing Team

ver: 3.4.0 | last updated: