Official Government Website

Testing and Fingerprints

Idaho requires testing and fingerprinting for all residents wishing to hold a license. Idaho has partnered with  PSI to provide this service. 

Testing Information

It is recommended that anybody interested in testing download the free  pre-licensing Candidate Handbook . This document gives important information in preparation for the exam.

To find the statutes and rules that are referenced in the above documents, go to Laws/Rules/Bulletins*.  NOTE: This is not a complete study guide, only an outline of topics in each exam.

Idaho does not require pre-licensing education.

Click here to register for the licensing exam.

Locations

Boise Coeur d’Alene Idaho Falls* Pocatello Twin Falls
PSI, Westgate Plaza
1755 Westgate Dr. Ste. 130
Boise, ID 83704
855-807-3999
PSI, Nexus
175 W Dalton Ave
Coeur d’Alene, ID 83815
855-807-3999
PSI, College of Eastern Idaho
1600 S. 25th E.
Idaho Falls, ID 83404
855-807-3999
PSI, Idaho State University
920 N Argonne Rd, Ste 202
Spokane Valley, ID 99212
855-807-3999
PSI, College of Southern Idaho
315 Falls Ave
Twin Falls, ID 83301
855-807-3999
Tuesday to Saturday:
10:00am-11:30am
Tuesday and Thursday:
12:30 pm– 2:30pm
Monday to Wednesday:
8:30am-3:30pm
Tuesday to Thursday:
10:00am-2:00pm
Monday and Wednesday:
10:00am-2:00pm
*Idaho Falls does not offer fingerprinting.

Study Material

While the DOI cannot directly provide study material we have compiled this list of contacts who provide study material relevant to the Idaho exams.

AD Banker – 1-800-866-2468

America’s Professor – 1-800-870-3130

CPMI – 877-601-2273

ExamFX – 800-586-2253

Intellipass, Inc. – 800-821-8326

Kaplan Financial Education – 800-824-8742

National Online Insurance School – 1-888-770-3681

Silver Key School of Insurance – 208-362-6000

WebCE – 877-488-9308

AdjusterPro – 214-329-9030

Fingerprints Information

Residents must submit fingerprints for initial license only.

The CHRI/Request and Release form and the fingerprinting receipt must be returned to the DOI by the applicant.

The documents can be faxed to 208-334-4398 or emailed (agent@doi.idaho.gov) along with pass slips. Alternatively, they can be submitted with your electronic application.

If you are unable to fingerprint through the above processes or if you encounter problems in doing so, please contact the Department office at 208-334-4339 or via email for further information.

Additional Fingerprinting Information

Registration

Reservations for testing and/or fingerprinting can be made through the Exam Registration website.

Testing fees (per line of authority): $60

Non-Refundable Fingerprinting fees: $70

Locations

Boise Coeur d’Alene Pocatello Twin Falls
PSI, Westgate Plaza
1755 Westgate Dr. Ste. 130
Boise, ID 83704
855-807-3999
PSI, Nexus
175 W Dalton Ave
Coeur d’Alene, ID 83815
855-807-3999
PSI, Idaho State University
920 N Argonne Rd, Ste 202
Spokane Valley, ID 99212
855-807-3999
PSI, College of Southern Idaho
315 Falls Ave
Twin Falls, ID 83301
855-807-3999
Tuesday to Saturday:
10:00am-11:30am
Tuesday and Thursday:
12:30 pm – 2:30pm
Tuesday to Thursday:
10:00am-2:00pm
Monday and Wednesday:
10:00am-2:00pm

FAQs

Does Idaho require pre-licensing education?

No.

Can I take my exam remotely?

Yes. Remote proctoring can be selected when scheduling an exam from PSI.

Does Idaho provide study material?

Click here for more information on studying for the exam.

Are the pass rates for the Idaho Insurance exam available?

Yes please see the following links for results.

2020

2019

2018

2017

2016

2015

I have a resident license in another state and am moving to Idaho, do I need to test again?

You do not need to test, but you will need to fingerprint. Click here for detailed instructions on switching your resident licenses to Idaho.

Can I use fingerprints that I had done for another purpose?

No, due to inter departmental restrictions other forms of fingerprinting cannot be used in lieu of the DOI fingerprinting process.

Can I use fingerprints that were taken for my insurance license in another state?

No.

Can I get my fingerprints done for Idaho in another state?

Yes, but it will add 6 to 8 WEEKS to the turnaround time. The last page of the CHRI Release/Non-Criminal Justice Form details the process.

Can I submit my fingerprints without going to a PSI location?

Yes. If you live more than 100 miles from a testing/fingerprinting, you are not required to use a PSI location. The last page of the CHRI Release/Non-Criminal Justice Form details the process.

Please note this method will increase the turnaround time from 7-10 business days to  6 to 8 WEEKS. You will also still be required to pay the fingerprinting fee to PSI upon submitting your fingerprint packet.

I’m a veteran, will the GI bill cover testing/fingerprinting?

Yes. All Idaho insurance licensing exams for the producers/bail/adjuster licenses are currently qualified through the Idaho Veteran’s Administration for U.S. Veterans to receive reimbursement through the GI Bill® Instructions and information.

How do I contact PSI directly?

PSI can be contacted via the following channels:

Phone: 855-807-3999

Email: examschedule@psionline.com

Website

The DOI does not have the phone number to any individual PSI location.

Have more questions?
Contact the Licensing Team

ver: 3.4.0 | last updated: