Official Government Website

Adjuster, Independent

Idaho requires all Residents and Non-Residents who wish to operate as an Independent Adjuster in Idaho be licensed.  An Independent Adjuster is a person who, on behalf of the insurer, investigates and negotiates settlement of claims arising under insurance contracts.

Idaho Code

Idaho Statutes: Chapter 11:

§41-1102 (Definitions)

§41-1103 (License Required)

§41-1104 (Qualifications for Adjuster’s License)

§41-1105 (Application for License)

§41-1106 (Scope of License)

§41-1107 (Emergency Adjusters)

§41-1108 (Other Provisions Applicable)

Chapter 10:

§41-1007 (1) (Licensing Requirements)

§41-1008 (Reinstatements, Military, 30 Day Address Change Requirement)

§41-1009 (State to State Address Change and Reciprocity)

§41-1011 (Refusal of License)

§41-1012 (Exemption from Exam and 90-day rule)

§41-1013 (Renewal/Reinstatement and late CE penalty requirements)

§41-1014 (Assumed Names)

§41-1016 (Administrative Penalty/Suspension, Revocation, Refusal of License)

§41-1020 (Reciprocity)

§41-1021 (Reporting of Actions)

§41-1026 (Conditions of Suspension and Revocation)

Title 30:

§30-21-801 through §30-21-810 (Use of a DBA/Assumed Business Name)

Rules:

IDAPA Rule 18

18.06.04 Continuing Education

Definitions

Adjuster: A person who, on behalf of the insurer, for compensation as an independent contractor or as the employee of such an independent contractor, or for fee or commission, investigates and negotiates settlement of claims arising under insurance contracts.

Independent Adjuster: An “adjuster” is a person who, on behalf of the insurer, for compensation as an independent contractor or as the employee of such an independent contractor, or for fee or commission, investigates and negotiates settlement of claims arising under insurance contracts.

For a full list of insurance licensing terms please click here.

How to Apply

Resident Application Requirements

All resident licensing requirements must be met for the application to be considered valid.

Resident Application Requirements

Step 1: Pass the Independent Adjuster Exam. For information on testing click here.

Step 2: Have your fingerprints taken. For more information on fingerprints click here.

Step 3: Apply online via NIPR. There is a Non-Refundable Fee of $80.

Step 4: Send the following to: agent@doi.idaho.gov or upload them to the Document Warehouse.

Non-Resident Application Requirements

Non-Resident Application Requirements

Non-residents do not need to send test scores or fingerprint.  The PDB will be checked to verify license qualification in the licensee’s home state.

Step One: Have an Independent Adjuster license with your home state or designated home state.

Step Two: : Apply online via NIPR. There is a Non-Refundable Fee of $80.

<strong>Designated Home State Requirements</strong>

Idaho allow DHS Adjusters to designate Idaho as their “home state” for licensing purposes if the state in which they reside does not license adjusters. DHS-Idaho Independent Adjusters are treated as residents and must meet resident requirements for their initial adjuster license and complete resident continuing education requirements.

Designated Home State (DHS) Application Requirements

Step 1: Pass the Independent Adjuster Exam. For information on testing click here.

Step 2: Have your fingerprints taken. Fingerprints must be taken on the FBI applicant cards (FD-258) by a qualified law enforcement agency (police or sheriff’s office) or other entity that provides fingerprinting services. For instructions on submitting your fingerprints please see the last page of the CHRI Request and Release form. Do not send the fingerprint card to the Department of Insurance

Step 3: Apply online via NIPR. There is a Non-Refundable Fee of $80.

Step 4: Send the following to: agent@doi.idaho.gov.

Continuing Education (CE)

The DOI STRONGLY recommends residents have their CE completed 30 days or more prior to your expiration date. You can not apply for a renewal until CE is complete and posted.

Resident Independent Adjusters and DHS-Idaho Adjusters are required to complete 24 hours of Department approved Continuing Education (CE) credits during each license period.

CE status can be tracked by clicking on Individual CE Transcript Inquiry .

Approved courses can be found on the CE Course Catalog on the Continuing Education pages.

Please see the Continuing Education page for more information.

Requirements

Renewal Information

The Department considers the renewal of the license to be the responsibility of the licensee.

The DOI STRONGLY recommends residents have their CE completed 30 days or more prior to your expiration date. You can not apply for a renewal until CE is complete and posted. We also recommend applying for renewal at least a week in advance in case of system issues.

Licenses cane be renewed via NIPR.

Independent Adjuster licenses need to be renewed every two years. A renewal may be applied for up to six weeks prior to the expiration of your license.

CE, if required, must be completed prior to applying for renewal.

Please allow 24-48 hours before attempting to print a license.

Requirements

  • Residents must complete 24 hours of CE within the two-year renewal period.
  • No carry-over of CE credits are allowed from one period to the next
  • No credit is given for a repeated course within the same renewal period.

Reinstatement

If the license was not renewed before the expiration date, the license will require reinstatement.   

Reinstatement is available up to one year past the expiration of the license via NIPR. Note: The page will say you are submitting a renewal, this is correct. Reinstatements are a subcategory of renewals.

Resident Reinstatement Fees

The reinstatement fee varies depending on the status of CE.

  • If all CE was completed prior to expiration, or no CE was required the Non-Refundable fee is $120.
  • If CE was completed within 30 days after the expiration of the license the Non-Refundable fee is $220.00
  • If CE was completed within 60 days after the expiration of the license the Non-Refundable fee is $320.00
  • If CE was completed within 90 days after the expiration of the license the Non-Refundable fee is $420.00

Non-Resident Reinstatement Fee

The non-refundable reinstatement fee is $120.

Reporting of Actions

Independent Adjusters (both individuals and agencies) have a duty to report any criminal or administrative actions to the Idaho Department of Insurance within 30 days per §41-5819

The Department encourages producers to use the NIPR Reporting of Actions Warehouse at www.nipr.com as a convenient means to post their documents and explanations to report to any state in which they are licensed.

FAQ

How do I get a copy of my license?

You can get a free PDF copy of your license by clicking here.

What are the possible exams available for Independent Adjusters?

Idaho offers a General Lines Adjuster exam, a Worker’s Compensation exam, and a Crop/Hail exam.

Are Staff Adjusters required to be licensed in Idaho?

No, salaried employees of an insuring company are not required to be licensed in Idaho.

Do Agency Independent Adjusters require a DRLP on their application?

No

Are company registrations/appointments required for adjusters?

No

How does an Idaho Designated Home State license differ from an Independent Adjuster license?

Idaho does allow DHS adjusters to designate Idaho as their “home state” for licensing purposes. DHS-Idaho Independent Adjusters are treated as residents and must meet resident requirements for their initial adjuster license and complete resident continuing education requirements. It is no different from a Resident Independent Adjuster license except that the licensee does not reside in Idaho and must apply with the paper application.

Are Resident Independent Adjusters and DHS-Idaho Independent Adjusters required to complete Continuing Education to maintain their license?

Yes, click here for details.

What is the PSI pre-licensing candidate handbook and why do I need it?

This booklet is prepared and provided by our exam vendor, PSI Exams, to guide you through the testing procedures and requirements. If provides important information and phone numbers and can answer many questions you may have regarding how to arrange for your exams and fingerprints, and what to expect at the testing site. It can be found on our website on the Resident Study/Testing material and Exam/Fingerprinting information page.

How do I apply for an Independent Adjuster’s license?

Click here for information on applying for a license.

How long does it take for an application to be processed?

There are many factors that go into the processing time of an application. The department can typically process a non-resident, individual license application within 1-2 business days of receiving all documentation.

Many factors can increase the processing time, including but not limited to:

  • Fingerprints: Processing time does not include the time waiting for fingerprints. Your application is not considered complete until the fingerprints are processed and returned to the DOI. For more information on fingerprinting click here.
  • Background Issues: If you have a criminal offense that needs reviewed your application will be on hold while it is reviewed. You can speed up this process by ensuring that all needed documents are submitted with your application or are already uploaded to the NIPR Document warehouse. For more information on Criminal Offenses and licensing click here.
  • Applying by paper instead of online: While there are licenses that must apply via paper most can be applied for online. Applying by paper can add upwards of 4-7 days, not including shipping time, to the turnaround time.
  • Inaccurate information: Make sure that everything is correct and complete on your application before submitting.
  • Missing Items: Ensure that you have everything on your Application Checklist completed and ready to submit together with the application. Ensuring that all documents are submitted together will help speed the process.

How long is my license good for?

Your license will expire after two years if you do not apply for and are granted a renewal. Licenses expire on the last day of your birth month.

How do I renew my license?

Click here for information on renewing your license.

When can I apply to renew my license?

You can apply for renewal up to 90 days before the expiration date. We recommend that you have your CE complete before applying for renewal.

There is no grace period for license Renewal. If you do not apply for a renewal and have complete CE by your expiration date your license will be suspended.

For example, if you are born in August and you have not applied for a renewal your license will be suspended on August 31st.

How do reinstate my license?

Click here for information on reinstating your license.

How long do I have to reinstate a lapsed license?

1 year, after that period of time you will need to apply for a new license. Click here for more information.

How long do I have to get my Continuing Education (CE) done?

You can do your CE at any time, however we do recommend that you have it complete at least 30 days BEFORE your license renewal is due. There is no grace period for CE compliance.  If CE is not completed by the renewal date a late CE penalty will need to be paid before the license can be re-instated.

Can I only take CE courses in the adjuster course category in the catalog?

No, you can take all courses in our CE course catalog. Click here for more information on CE and adjuster licenses.

Can I take the same CE course more than once?

You cannot repeat a course within the same renewal period. Courses may be re-taken in separate renewal periods. Click here for more information on CE and adjuster licenses.

How do I change the name on my license?

In order to change the name on your license you will need to submit the Name Change Form along with proof of legal name change, to the Department. Examples of accepted forms are Marriage Certificates, Divorce decree (showing a court ordered name change), Driver’s License, Passport or Legal Order. DO NOT SEND YOUR SOCIAL SEUCIRTY CARD.

How do change my contact information? (address, phone number, email address)?

For individual licenses, you may now make updates to any of your contact information by using the Change function online via NIPR or Sircon. Once updated, allow 24 hours for the updated information to appear on our website. Internet Explorer and Edge web browsers may not be compatible with these web sites. If you are having trouble using their functionality please try a different web browser.

How do DBA’s work in relation to my license?

Please visit our Doing Business As page for information on DBA’s.

How long does it take for the website to reflect changes made by the Department of Insurance?

Any changes to your record are usually reflected within 24-48 hours of the change.

How do I surrender/cancel my license?

There is no negative consequence or penalty in Idaho for allowing your license to lapse for failure to renew. However, if you want to voluntarily surrender your license, you may submit the appropriate Voluntary Surrender Request form. The form can be found on the Departments Forms and Links page.

Have more questions?
Contact the Licensing Team

ver: 3.5.1 | last updated: