Official Government Website

Producer, Individual

An insurance producer is a licensed salesperson working for an insurance agency. The main goal of the insurance producer is to acquire new customers and cross-sell new policies to existing customers of the agency.

All individuals (producers) are required to be licensed if they sell, solicit, or negotiate (act as a producer) insurance products in Idaho. 

Idaho Code

Idaho Statutes:

Title 41:

§41-1003 (Definitions)

§41-1004 (License Required)

§41-1005 (Exceptions to Licensing)

§41-1006 (Examination)

§41-1007 (Licensing Requirements)

§41-1008 (Lines of Authority, Reinstatements, Military, 30 day Address Change Requirement)

§41-1009 (State to State Address Change and Reciprocity)

§41-1011 (Refusal of License)

§41-1012 (Exemption from Exam and 90 day rule)

§41-1013 (Renewal/Reinstatement and late CE penalty requirements)

§41-1014 (DBA’s)

§41-1017 (Commissions)

§41-1018 (Appointments)

§41-1020 (Reciprocity)

§41-1021 (Reporting of Actions)

§41-1026 (Conditions of Suspension and Revocation)

§41-1028 (Inactive Status)

§41-1036 (Record Retention)

§41-1314 (Rebates – Illegal Inducements)

Title 30:

§30-21-801 through §30-21-810 (Use of a DBA/Assumed Business Name)

Title 30:

§30-21-801 through §30-21-810 (Use of a DBA/Assumed Business Name)

Rules:

IDAPA Rule 18

18.03.01 Suitability in Annuity Transactions

18.06.02 Producers Handling of Fiduciary Funds

18.03.03 Variable Contracts

18.02.03 Certificate of Liability Insurance for Motor Vehicles

18.03.04 Replacements of Life Insurance and Annuities

18.01.02 Schedule of Fees, Licenses, and other Misc. Charges

18.06.03 Disclosure Requirements for Insurance Providers when Charging Fees

18.06.04 Continuing Education

Bulletin 11-01 Money Handling and Fiduciary Funds

Definitions

Producer: a person required to be licensed under the laws of the state of Idaho to sell, solicit, or negotiate insurance.

Person: an individual or a business entity.

Negotiate: the act of conferring directly with or offering advice directly to a purchaser or prospective purchaser of a particular contract of insurance concerning any of the substantive benefits, terms or conditions of the contract, provided that the person engaged in the act either sells insurance or obtains insurance from insurers for purchasers.

Sell: to exchange a contract of insurance by any means, for money or its equivalent, on behalf of an insurance company.

Solicit: attempting to sell insurance or asking or urging a person to apply for a particular kind of insurance from a particular company or companies.

Limited lines producer” means a producer authorized by the director to sell, solicit or negotiate limited lines insurance.

Limited lines insurance: is insurance which restricts the authority of the license to less than the total authority prescribed in the associated major lines pursuant to section 41-1008(1)(a) through (g), Idaho Code, and shall include, but not be limited to: credit life, credit disability, credit property, credit unemployment, involuntary unemployment, mortgage life, mortgage guaranty, mortgage disability, guaranteed automobile protection (GAP) insurance, transportation baggage insurance, transportation ticket policies covering personal accident insurance, pet insurance, portable electronics insurance or any other line of insurance that the director deems necessary to recognize for the purposes of complying with section 41-1009(5), Idaho Code.

Resident: a person whose home state is Idaho or any other particular state identified in conjunction with the use of the term.

Home state:  the District of Columbia and any state or territory of the United States or any province of Canada in which an insurance producer maintains his or her principal place of residence or principal place of business and is licensed to act as an insurance producer.

License: a document issued by the director authorizing a person to act as an insurance producer for the lines of authority specified in the document. The license itself does not create any authority, actual, apparent or inherent, in the holder to represent or commit an insurance carrier.

Terminate: the cancellation of the relationship between an insurance producer and the insurer or the termination of a producer’s authority to transact insurance for or on behalf of an insurer.

Uniform application:  the current version of the national association of insurance commissioners (NAIC) uniform application for resident and nonresident producer licensing.

Types of Lines of Authority:

  • Life: coverage on human lives, including benefits of endowment and annuities, benefits in the event of death or dismemberment by accident, and benefits for disability income.
  • Disability (often referred to as Health in other states): including accident and health or sickness insurance coverage for sickness, bodily injury or accidental death and benefits for disability income.
  • Property: insurance coverage for the direct or consequential loss or damage to property of every kind.
  • Casualty: insurance coverage against legal liability, including liability for death, injury or disability or damage to real or personal property.
  • Variable: life and variable annuity products, meaning insurance coverage provided under variable life insurance contracts and variable annuities.
  • Personal lines: meaning property and casualty insurance coverage sold to individuals and families for primarily noncommercial purposes.

For a full list of insurance licensing terms please click here.

Lines of Authority

The following lines of authority can be carried on a Producer License. For a printable version of this list click here.

  • Life: coverage on human lives, including benefits of endowment and annuities, benefits in the event of death or dismemberment by accident, and benefits for disability income.
  • Accident Health and Sickness (often referred to as Health or Disability in other states): including accident and health or sickness insurance coverage for sickness, bodily injury or accidental death and benefits for disability income.
  • Property: insurance coverage for the direct or consequential loss or damage to property of every kind.*
  • Casualty: insurance coverage against legal liability, including liability for death, injury or disability or damage to real or personal property.*
  • Variable: life and variable annuity products, meaning insurance coverage provided under variable life insurance contracts and variable annuities.
  • Personal lines: meaning property and casualty insurance coverage sold to individuals and families for primarily noncommercial purposes.
  • Limited Lines: Please see the Limited Lines page for information on limited lines.

*When the Property and Causality lines are both held they also cover the following limited lines of authority: Credit, Crop, Personal Lines, Pet and Surety.

Activities Requiring a License

Idaho Codes §41-1003, §41-1004, §41-1005 describe the activities that require licensure in Idaho. Please refer to those for full details. Below is a summary list of activities that require a license.

Licensure is required for the following activities:

  • Talk to a customer or potential customer about insurance.
  • Sell any policy or contract for insurance.
  • Give advice about the benefits, advantages, or disadvantages under any policy of insurance that could be issued in Idaho.
  • Negotiate with a customer. This includes any interaction with the customer concerning the possibility of obtaining insurance

License Requirements

Residents must test and be fingerprinted prior to applying. Please see Resident Study/Testing Material and Exam/Fingerprinting Information Section for more information.

When applying for a limited lines license (such as Credit, Travel, Surety, or Pet), testing is not required. However, please download the Limited Lines Pre-licensing Manual and return the attestation page with license application. Fingerprinting is still required.

Idaho is reciprocal with the lines of authority carried on the home state licenses. The Department will verify current licenses with the PDB.

Producers applying for the Variable line must have a valid FINRA Broker Registration and carry the Life line of Authority.

How to Apply

Resident Application Process

Step One: Pass the Producer License Exam for all lines you wish to carry. For information on testing click here.

Step Two: Have your Fingerprints taken at an Idaho PSI location. For more information on fingerprints click here.

Step Three: Apply online via NIPR. There is a non-refundable fee: $80.

Step Four: Email the following documents to agent@doi.idaho.gov or upload them to the Documents Warehouse.

  • Copy of Pass Slip(s)s from Exam(s) or Attestation page from Limited Lines Pre-Licensing Manual
  • CHRI Request and Release form
  • Fingerprint Receipt (Handwritten fingerprint receipt that has the TCN TRACKING number on it)
  • If the applicant is not a citizen of the U.S, but are residing in Idaho and applying to become a resident producer, the application must be accompanied by a copy of a current work permit visa/Green Card. A student visa is not valid for purposes of this license.

Non-Resident Application Process

Step One: Hold a Producer License in your home state which has the same lines you are applying for.

Step Two: Submit an online application via NIPR. There is a non-refundable fee: $80.

Continuing Education

Resident producers must complete 24 hours of Continuing Education, with a minimum of 3 hours in ethics. These hours are due at the time of renewal. The DOI STRONGLY recommends residents have their CE completed 30 days or more prior to your expiration date. You can not apply for a renewal until CE is complete and posted.

The following lines require line specific training:

The licensee may complete and submit the continuing education requirements late, however the license will not be active after the expiration of the license.

There are additional penalties for completing CE late.

The completion date of any course will determine which non-refundable penalty will apply.

  • $100.00 if CE is completed within 30 days of the expiration of the license.
  • $200.00 if CE is completed between 31 and 60 days of the expiration of the license.
  • $300.00 if CE is completed between 61 and 90 days of the expiration of the license.
  • $80.00 if the CE has is completed between 90 and 365 days of the expiration of the license. The producer must reapply and retest as though a new agent and fulfill CE requirement. They will not have to fingerprint. The fee in this instance is $80.

There is no penalty if CE has not been completed within 365 days.  However, the producer must retest, fingerprint, and reapply as if they are a new applicant.

Continuing Education Course Catalog is available on our website for a listing of providers and approved Idaho Continuing Education courses.

Exemptions for Continuing Education:

  • Business Entities
  • Non-resident Producers
  • Limited Lines/Credit Producers
  • Independent Adjusters
  • Surplus Lines

Click here for more CE information

Renewal Information

The DOI STRONGLY recommends residents have their CE completed 30 days or more prior to your expiration date. You can not apply for a renewal until CE is complete and posted. We also recommend applying for renewal at least a week in advance in case of system issues.

The Department considers the renewal of the license to be the responsibility of the licensee.

Producer licenses need to be renewed every two years. A renewal may be applied for up to six weeks prior to the expiration of your license.

Resident License Renewal

Licenses can be renewed via NIPR.

Idaho residents must have their CE complete before applying for a renewal.

There is a non-refundable renewal fee is $60 (plus vendor processing fee) if renewing prior to expiration date.

Be sure to provide a current email address as the license will be emailed upon renewal.

Non-Resident License Renewal

Licenses can be renewed via NIPR.

Licensees resident license in their home state must be active and carry the requested line(s) if authority in order to renew their Idaho non-resident license

There is a non-refundable renewal fee of $60 (plus vendor processing fee) if renewing prior to expiration date.

Reinstatement Information

If the license has not been renewed before the expiration date, the license will require reinstatement.

Reinstatement is available up to one year past the expiration of the license via NIPRNote: The page will say you are submitting a renewal, this is correct. Reinstatements are a subcategory of renewals.

If more than one year has past since the expiration of a resident license it can no longer be re-instated. After one year a new license will need to be applied for, including fingerprinting and testing.

Resident Reinstatement

Licensees must be CE complaint in order to reinstate their license. The reinstatement fee varies depending on when CE compliance was obtained.

  • If all CE was completed prior to expiration, or no CE was required the non-refundable fee is $120.
  • If CE was completed within 30 days after the expiration of the license the non-refundable fee is $220.00
  • If CE was completed within 60 days after the expiration of the license the non-refundable fee is $320.00
  • If CE was completed within 90 days after the expiration of the license the non-refundable fee is $420.00

Non-Resident Reinstatement

Licensees resident license in their home state must be active and carry the requested line(s) if authority in order to reinstate their Idaho non-resident license

There is a non-refundable reinstatement fee of $120 (plus vendor processing fee) if renewing prior to expiration date.

Reporting of Actions

Producers and agencies have a duty to report any criminal or administrative actions to the Idaho Department of Insurance within 30 days per §41-1021

Producers are encouraged to use the NIPR Reporting of Actions Warehouse at www.nipr.com as a convenient means to post documents and explanations in order to report to the Department and any state in which you are licensed.

FAQ

Where can I get a copy of my license?

You can get a free copy of your license from the SBS License Manager.

Who needs to be licensed?

All individuals and business entities, resident, or non-resident, who sell, solicit, or negotiate insurance in the State of Idaho must be licensed for any class or classes of insurance. Any business entity whose producers are acting under the entity’s name must be licensed. Click here for more information.

Can I receive a license if I have a record?

Please click here for information on Insurance Licensing and criminal records.

How do I get a license in Idaho?

Click here for instructions on applying for a license.

How long does it take for an application to be processed?

There are many factors that go into the processing time of an application. The department can typically process a non-resident individual license application within 1-2 business days of receiving all documentation.

Many factors can increase the processing time, including but not limited to:

  • Fingerprints. Processing time does not include the time waiting for fingerprints. Your application is not considered complete until the fingerprints are processed and returned to the DOI. For more information on fingerprinting click here.
  • Background Issues. If you have criminal offense that needs reviewed your application will be on hold while it is reviewed. You can speed up this process by ensuring that all needed documents are submitted with your application or are already uploaded to the NIPR Document warehouse. For more information on Criminal Offenses and licensing click here.
  • Applying by paper instead of online. While there are licenses that must apply via paper most can be applied for online. Applying by paper process can add upwards of 4-7 days, not including shipping time to the turnaround time.
  • Inaccurate information. Make sure that everything is correct in your application, including addresses, before submitting.
  • Missing Items. Ensure that you have everything on your Application Checklist completed and ready to submit together with the application. Ensuring that all documents are submitted together will help speed the process.

How long is my license good for?

Your license will expire after two years if you do not apply for and are granted a renewal. Licenses expire on the last day of your birth month.

When can I apply to renew my license?

You can apply for renewal up to 90 days before the expiration date. We recommend that you have your CE complete at least 30 days before applying for renewal..

There is no grace period for license renewal.

How do I renew my license?

Click here for information on renewing your license.

Do I need to complete continuing education for Idaho?

Resident licensees are required to complete 24 hours of Continuing Education (CE), with a minimum of 3 hours in the Ethics course category, each 2-year license review period. Non-resident licensees are not required to complete CE for Idaho but are required to maintain CE compliance in their resident license state. Click here for more information.

How do I find out what CE is required for my license?

Producers require 24 credits, 3 of which must be in ethics, of CE every renewal period. Click here for more information.

How long do I have to get my Continuing Education (CE) done?

You can do your CE at any time, however we do recommend that you have it complete at least 30 days BEFORE your license renewal is due. There is no grace period for CE compliance.  If CE is not completed by the renewal date a late CE penalty will need to be paid before the license can be re-instated.

I’ve completed my CE but still can’t renew.

CE does not populate to your record, or to our online renewal system instantaneously. Please see the the time table below for a break down

-From the day you complete your CE course the CE provider has 30 days to upload the credits per Idaho statute. If you would like them to upload the credits ASAP you will need to contact the CE provider.

-Once the credit is entered in to our system it is sent in a batch report over night to the PDB.

-After the report is submitted it can take the PDB 1-5 business days to reflect the completion. Once it is reflected in the PDB you can apply for a renewal on NIPR.

If you completed your CE over 30 days ago, or it has been more that five days since it was uploaded to our system, and you are with in the renewal window, but are still unable to renew on the online system please reach out to the Department of Insurance.

My license expired; what do I do now?

Depending on how long the license has been expired, there are different requirements to reinstate your license, click here for mor information.

How do I reinstate my license?

Click here for information on reinstating your license.

How long do I have to Reinstate a lapsed license?

1 year, click here for more information.

Can I reinstate a license that has been expired for more than a year?

No. You will need to apply for a new license.

How do I add a line of authority to my license?

Idaho resident licensees must first pass the appropriate exam and submit their pass slips to the to the Department. After pass slips have been submitted you can request the line  via  NIPR.  

Non-resident licensees must first hold the requested line of authority on their resident license, then can request the line  via  NIPR.

Why doesn’t Long Term Care show on my license?

Long Term Care is part of the Life line of authority and does not show separately on your license.

I have a line of authority in another state that is not listed in Idaho, can I still carry it?

Many lines of authority vary in name and coverage between states. The following are the most common examples

The Line of Authority in IdahoAlternate NamesCovered Lines from Other States
Accident, Health and SicknessHealth – Accident, Health and Sickness, Disability Long Term Care – Medicare Supplements
Property and Causality*Personal Lines, Surety, Crop, Pet, Credit, Travel
CreditGAP, Pet
Surplus LinesExcessive Lines

For a detail list of what the lines of authority cover in Idaho click here.

*Property and Causality are two separate lines, but when combined cover the items listed.

I have moved, do I need to notify the Department?

Yes. It is your responsibility to notify and update the Department of any changes to the contact information for your license. Address changes need to be reported within 30 days.

How do I change the name on my license?

In order to change the name on your license you will need to submit the Name Change Form along with proof of legal name change, to the Department. Examples of accepted forms are Marriage Certificates, Divorce decree (showing a court ordered name change), Driver’s License, Passport or Legal Order. DO NOT SEND YOUR SOCIAL SEUCIRTY CARD.

How do I change my contact information (address, phone number, email address)?

Click here to change your contact information.  Once updated, allow 24 hours for the updated information to appear on our website.

How long does it take for the website to reflect changes made by the Department of Insurance?

Any changes to your record are usually reflected within 24-48 hours of the change.

How do I switch my license from Non-resident to Resident?

Click here for a step-by-step guide to changing your non-resident license to resident.

How do I surrender/cancel my license?

There is no negative consequence or penalty in Idaho for allowing your license to lapse for failure to renew. However, if you want to voluntarily surrender your license, you may submit the appropriate Voluntary Surrender Request form. The form can be found on the Departments Forms/Links page.

What is the PSI pre-licensing candidate handbook and why do I need it?

This booklet is prepared and provided by our exam vendor, PSI Exams, to guide you through the testing procedures and requirements. It provides important information and phone numbers and can answer many questions you may have regarding how to arrange for your exams and fingerprints, and what to expect at the testing site. It can be found on our website on the Resident Study/Testing material and Exam/Fingerprinting information page.

If your question is not answered above, please submit your question directly to the DOI.

Have more questions?
Contact the Licensing Team

ver: 3.5.1 | last updated: